JUST PUBLISHED

WHO WAS WHO IN OTTAWA 1855-1967

On 1 January 1855 Bytown was renamed Ottawa. When Bytown was created in 1826, in Nepean Township, it consisted of two neighbourhoods: Upper Town west of the future canal, and Lower Town east of it. The next two neighbourhoods were Sandy Hill, south of Lower Town, and LeBreton Flats, west of Upper Town. Ottawa acquired several other neighbourhoods over the years, as the city limits were extended westward, eastward and southward. On its eastern boundary, Ottawa annexed New Edinburgh in 1887 and Gloucester Village in 1889. Also in 1889 Ottawa annexed Stewarton on its southern boundary. On its western boundary, Ottawa annexed Mount Sherwood and Rochesterville in 1889, and then, in 1907, Bayswater, Manchesterville, Hintonburg and Mechanicsville. Also in 1907, Ottawa annexed Archville on its southeastern boundary. The largest single annexation of territory by Ottawa was effected on 1 January 1950, when 14,605 acres were obtained from Gloucester Township, and 7,420 acres were obtained from Nepean Township, thereby increasing the size of Ottawa five-fold.

IN THIS BOOK YOU WILL FIND

345 SHORT BIOGRAPHICAL PROFILES

including
MAYORS OF OTTAWA
GOVERNORS GENERAL OF CANADA
PRIME MINISTERS OF CANADA
ENGINEERS AND SCIENTISTS
MEMBERS OF THE CLERGY
PERSONS ELECTED TO THE HOUSE OF COMMONS
ARCHITECTS, ARTISTS, AUTHORS
PUBLIC SERVANTS
ENTREPRENEURS
SPORTS FIGURES

This 56-page book costs \$10.00 (postal orders, add \$3.00). Please make your cheque payable to the Gloucester Historical Society, and send your order to: Robert Serré, GHS Publications, 1057 Riviera Drive, Ottawa ON K1K 0N7. For more information, contact bob.rosealine@gmail.com or call 613-749-0607.