Gloucester Place Names Project
Updated February 23, 2011
This is an ongoing project that will eventually lead to the publication of a book by the Society. Our intent is identify all Gloucester Place Names, past and present, and provide some basic information about each. We welcome contributions from the public. First of all, we are including all the territory of the original Gloucester Township, east of the Rideau River and south of the Ottawa River. This includes the former City of Vanier, Rockcliffe Park and those parts east of the Rideau River that have been part of Ottawa since 1950 and even earlier.
How can you help?
1. Have we missed a name? Please tell us about it and we will add the place name to the list.
2. Send us photographs showing the past or present of any community listed.
3. Tell us how a place name originated.
4. We welcome any interesting stories about any community. The Gloucester Historical Society is here to preserve those stories.
5. Please advise us of any place name profiles contain incorrect information.
6. Our contact information can be found here
At the end of the list, you will find place name profiles, which will be updated from to time as more information is assembled.
* - synonyms for another place name
ABBEY GLEN (Jeanne d’Arc Boulevard west of Belcourt Boulevard, Orleans)
ASPEN VILLAGE (Orleans Blvd, Page Road, Innes Road, Orleans)
BATHGATE COURT (Bathgate Drive and Quigg Avenue)
BAYCREST GARDENS (Baycrest & Walkley)
BAY RIDGE (Walkley & McCarthy)
BEACON HILL GARDENS (Ogilvie Road north of Montreal Road)
*BEACON HILL NORTH
*BEACON HILL SOUTH
BEACON PLACE (north of Beacon Hill Shopping Centre)
BEAVERHILL PLACE (Ogilvie Road and Jasmine Crescent)
BELVEDERE PARK (Sept. 29, 1937 Rideau Terrace, Maple Lane, St. Joseph Orphanage)
BETHAMY WOODS (Montreal Road and Ogilvie Road)
BLAIR ESTATES (Blair Road and Meadowbrook Road)
BRIAN DOYLE’S HILL
BROOK GARDENS (Overbrook)
BROOKHILL GARDENS (Cyrville Road and Meadowbrook Road, Pineview)
*CANOTEK BUSINESS PARK (Canotek Road)
CANYON WALK (Spratt Road and Canyon Walk, Riverside South)
CEDAR COURT (Walkley & Heron)
CHAPEL TRAIL (Page Road and Renaud Road)
CHATEAUS OF HUNT CLUB
THE CLUSTERS (Goth Avenue)
CONVENT GARDENS (Orleans Boulevard and St. Louis Drive)
CONVENT GLEN SOUTH
CUMMINGS (Cummings Avenue)
CUMMINGS GARDENS (Cummings Avenue and Ogilvie Road)
CYRVILLE INDUSTRIAL AREA
DORSET HEIGHTS (Montreal Road and Elmsmere Road)
EASTCLIFFE GARDENS (Bortolotti Crescent, Pineview)
EASTWOOD PARK (Eastview)
ELMRIDGE (Ogilvie Road and Elmridge Drive)
ELMVALE GARDENS (St. Laurent Blvd.)
EMERALD CREEK ESTATES (Albion Road South)
FAIRGLEN MEWS (Glen Park Drive, south of Innes Road, Blackburn Hamlet)
FAIRHAVEN (Montreal Road and Codd’s Road)
FINDLAY CREEK VILLAGE
FORESTVIEW (Near Jeanne d’Arc and St. Joseph Blvd.)
FRENCH QUARTER (Vanier)
THE GABLES OF BEACON HILL (Montreal Road west of Ogilvie Road)
GATES OF ALBION
GATES OF FAIRLEA
GLOUCESTER POST OFFICE
GOLFVIEW ESTATES (Blair Road south of Meadowbrook Road)
*GRAHAM’S BAY (Mooney’s Bay)
GREEN’S CREEK CONS. AREA
HARWOOD (Orient Park Drive, south of Innes Road, Blackburn Hamlet)
HEARTHSTONE (Glen Park Drive, Blackburn Hamlet)
HILLSVIEW PLACE (Elmride Road and Elmsmere Road, Beacon Hill South)
HUNT CLUB CHASE
HUNT CLUB ESTATE
*HUNT CLUB FIELD
HUNT CLUB GATE
HUNT CLUB RIDGE
HUNT CLUB WOODS
HUNTER’S POINT (Bridal Path)
HUNTVIEW ESTATES (Hunt Club)
INNES ORIENT PARK (between Orient Park Drive and Innes Road, Blackburn Hamlet)
INNES PARK (Innes Road and Ridgeburn Gate, Blackburn Hamlet)
IRISH TOWN (near Manotick Station)
JEANNE D’ARC VILLAGE (Jeanne d’Arc Boulevard and Orleans Boulevard, Orleans)
LA COOPERATIVE D’HABITATION LAFONTAINE INC. (Albion Road)
THE LANDING (River Road south of Honey Gables, Riverside South
LANCASTER (Shefford Road south of Montreal Road)
LANDMARK (Hunt Club)
LASSITER TERRACE (south of Beacon Hill Shopping Centre)
LINDEN WALK (Ogilvie Road and Eastvale Drive)
*LONG ISLAND LOCKS
LONG ISLAND VILLAGE
LORD HALIFAX PLACE
LOYOLA COURT (Shefford Road and Loyola Avenue, Beacon Hill North)
MANOR PARK ESTATES
MANOR PARK SOUTH
THE MANORS (Virginia Drive)
MAPLEWOOD (MacArthur Road and St. Laurent Boulevard)
MASON PARK (adjacent to Rockcliffe Park)
MAVIS PARK (Blossom Park) Nov. 27,1979 page 4
THE MILE CIRCLE
*MOUNTAINVIEW (same as MONTVIEW)
OAK PARK (Smyth Road, former Rideau Veteran’s Home site, Claridge)
OAK RIDGE GATE
OGILVIE COURT (Ogilvie Road west of Cummings Avenue, Cyrville)
OGILVIE GARDENS (Ogilvie Road and Jasmine Crescent)
OGILVIE GARDENS (Palmerston Drive and Matheson Road)
OGLIVIE GATE (Donald Street and Cummings Avenue)
OGILVIE WALK (Ogilvie Road, east of Aviation Parkway)
OTTAWA BUSINESS PARK
*OTTAWA INTL AIRPORT
PARKVIEW GARDENS (Borthwick Avenue and Burn Street, Forbes)
PHOENIX RIDGE ESTATES (River Road near Manotick)
PINEVIEW ESTATES (Blair Road and Beaverpond Drive)
PLACE DE GOUVERNEURS (Cyrville Road, Ogilvie Road, Aviation Parkway)
*POINT BON HOMME (Nordic Circle)
QUARRY GLEN (Bilberry Drive, Champlain Street, Construction to begin in 2011)
QUEENSWAY INDUSTRIAL CAMPUS (Canotek Road)
QUINTERRA (Riverside Drive, west of Uplands Drive)
PARK RIDGEMONT (Bank Street and Walkley Road)
RIVER GLEN (Jeanne d’Arc Boulevard and Bilberry Drive, Orleans)
RIVERSIDE PARK SOUTH
RIVERVIEW GARDENS (Walkley & Riverside Drive)
*ROCKCLIFFE AIR BASE
ROCKCLIFFE AIR STATION
ROSEVALE PARK (Albion Road North)
ROSEWOOD ESTATES (Kilborn)
ROTHWELL RIDGE (Naskapi Drive and Marquis Avenue)
ROYALE ESTATES (Hunt Club)
RUSSELL GARDENS (Russell Road)
SOUTHHAVEN ESTATES (off Albion Road)
SOUTHSIDE MOBILE HOME PARK (Mitch Owens)
SPRING VALLEY TRAILS
STONEGATE PARK (Stonehenge Crescent north of Innes Road, Pineview)
STONEHENGE PARK (Stonehenge Crescent, Pineview)
STONERIDGE NORTH (Meadowbrook Road and Aurèle Street, Pineview)
STONERIDGE SOUTH (Meadowbrook Road and Ridgebrook Drive, Pineview)
SUICIDE HILL (Rockcliffe Park)
SUMMERFIELDS (Orleans Boulevard and Meadowglen Drive, Orleans)
SUMMERHILL (Bathgate Drive and Stone Quarry Private June 24, 1972)
SUMMERHILL VILLAGE (Riverside South, Claridge)
SUNDANCE (Findlay Creek, Claridge)
SUNRIDGE (east of Belcourt Boulevard, Orleans)
SUNRISE CORNERS (Donald Street, east of St. Laurent Boulevard)
SURREY PLACE (Bridal Path)
TRAILSEDGE (Page Road and Renaud Road)
TUDOR GATE (Orleans Boulevard and Jeanne d’Arc Boulevard)
UPLANDS COURT (Hunt Club)
UPPER HUNT CLUB
VICTORIA VILLAGE (Heron & Riverside)
VILLAGE ON THE GREEN (Innes Road and Viseneau Drive, Orleans)
VISCOUNT ALEXANDER PARK
WHITEHILL GLADE (July 2, 1951, Campeau Construction Company, off of Metcalfe Road)
WHITEHILL HEIGHTS (Kilborn Avenue, Donald G. Charbonneau Ltd.)
WINDSOR PARK VILLAGE
WOODHAVEN (Lorry Greenberg Dr.)
WOODLANDS COURT (east side of Bank Street, South Gloucester, mostly mobile homes
PLACE NAMES AND COMMUNITY PROFILES
(Updated February 23, 2011)
Aladdin Village, a subdivision adjacent to of Blossom Park, is east of centred on Albion Road and south of at Queensdale Avenue, and was developed between 1976 and 1978 [Scott 2004]. It replaced a subdivision of tiny houses dating from the early 1940s that originally housed workers at the National Research Council Research Station at the above intersection. The Aladdin Drive-In theatre operated across Albion Road from 1951 until 1993.
A public housing townhouse development at the corner of Albion and Heatherington Roads.
The urban community of Alta Vista is located east and southeast of Billings Bridge, and south of Smyth Road [Anon. 1992]. It was developed after World War II [Séguin 1991]. The first houses along Alta Vista Drive began to appear in 1939 [Lockwood 2000]. The original Alta Vista (translates as ‘High View’) subdivision was located on the north side of Randall Avenue and east of Bank Street and the old CPR right of way on the former Cowan farm. It was part of the pre-World War I real estate boom but the subdivision was a failure. The subdivision map is dated May 2, 1913. It was marketed because of its proximity to Billings Bridge and the city and because of its view of the city and the Parliament Buildings. Development commenced around 1950 [Ottawa Citizen, July 27, 1950 p.34, Aug. 16, 1950 p.32 and Feb. 16, 1951 p.32]. Alta Vista Drive, which is named after this subdivision, was originally called Churchill Drive (for British Prime Minister Winston Churchill) but received its current name following the 1950 annexation. When first built, Alta Vista Drive ran from Smyth Road to the subdivision (Randall Avenue). In 1945, the survey was approved to extend it to the Metcalfe Highway (now Bank Street) [Ottawa Citizen Oct. 2, 1945 p.8]. It was extended to the north through Riverview Park in the early 1950s. Within the original subdivision, Alta Vista Public School was built and opened in 1949 replacing Billings Bridge Public School. At the end of the 1940s, Alta Vista Drive was intended to be the grand new entrance boulevard into Ottawa from the south [Ottawa Citizen, April 7, 1949 p.18]. It would have entered the city through Hurdman’s Bridge but this changed in the 1950s when the Queensway was planned to run eastward. In 1951, the landmark Alta Vista water tower was built on Randall Avenue east of Alta Vista Drive at the height of the land. This facilitated the construction of all the surrounding subdivisions. Alta Vista is now commonly regarded to cover a much wider area than the original subdivision. It now also includes Applewood Acres, Faircrest Heights, Rideau Park, Willowood Heights, Forest Hill, Playfair Park, Guildwood Estates, Kings Park, Lynda Park, Ridgemont, Ascot Heights, Orchard Park and Hillary Heights.
The subdivision of Applewood Acres was developed on parts of lots 17 and 18 in the Junction Gore after World War II, with the Riverside Hospital lying northwest of it, and the Billings Estate southwest of it [Paine 1980]. It is located on the site of the former Billings family apple orchard and the named is derived from this.
Located in Alta Vista north of Kilborn Avenue and west of Alta Vista Drive, this development was built by Bernard Garand [Ottawa Citizen Aug. 27, 1967 p.38].
See EASTWAY GARDENS.
See SOUTH GLOUCESTER.
Situated south of Mooney’s Bay in the vicinity of Revelstoke Drive, this subdivision existed as early as 1949. The first newspaper advertisement appeared on October 12, 1951 offering large lots and custom built homes. The real estate broker was The Lyon Development Corp. Ltd. [Ottawa Citizen, October 12, 1951 p.37].
The suburban community of Beacon Heights is located east of Beacon Hill North and west of the Queensway Industrial Campus [White 2003].
The suburban community of Beacon Hill is bounded by the Rockcliffe Parkway on the north and the Queensway on the south. Montreal Road runs through it in an east-west direction. The larger area north of Montreal Road is called Beacon Hill North, and is bounded on the west by the community of Rothwell Heights. The smaller area south of Montreal Road is called Beacon Hill South, and is bounded on the west by the community of Cardinal Heights [Anon. 1992]. The Belden map of 1879 shows a light house just northeast of Duck Island in the middle of the Ottawa river, level with lot 16 in the first concession of the Ottawa Front, and this may well explain the origin of the name Beacon Hill [IHACC]. The Beacon Hill North Community Association inaugurated an express bus service to downtown on July 5, 1971, which became known as the Beacon Hill Bullet [Ottawa Citizen, July 5, 1971 p.3]. This became the prototype for express bus services, which became popular in most Ottawa suburbs within a few years.
BEACON HILL NORTH
See BEACON HILL.
BEACON HILL SOUTH
See BEACON HILL.
A small community at the north end of Granville Street between Beechwood Cemetery and Notre Dame Cemetery and within the former Vanier city limits. It was built mainly in the 1990s and is adjacent to the more easterly community of Cardinal Glen, which lies outside Vanier. [Belovic]
A modern name applying to Beechwood Avenue and surrounding streets. This covers parts of New Edinburgh, Lindenlea, Vanier and the former villages of Gloucester and Clarkston.
A small community bounded by Maple Lane and Rideau Terrace and west of Springfield Road and just outside of Rockcliffe Park [Ottawa Citizen Sept. 29, 1937 p.2].
Lot 6 in the first concession of the Ottawa Front in Gloucester Township was once owned by two Besserer families. As of the 1850s, they operated a summer resort called Besserer’s Grove. There was a wharf for river boats and barges plying their way between Montreal and the upper Ottawa. Steamers which offered excursion cruises on the Ottawa river would make a stop at this wharf, known as Besserer’s Landing. There was also a hotel not far from the wharf, making this a popular spot for many years. Eventually, a syndicate of real estate men bought the site, and the name was changed to Hiawatha Park [Deveney 1988, Walker 1968].
Billings Bridge was the first settlement in Gloucester Township [Carter 1984]. In 1812, Braddish Billings, a lumberman, spotted a picturesque site on the south shore of the Rideau river, in the Junction Gore, and he eventually settled there with his wife, Lamira Dow [Johnston 1982]. Born in Massachusetts in 1783, Braddish was the fourth of seven children born to Dr. Elkanah Billings and his wife, Joanna Rogers. Braddish married Lamira Dow on 18 October 1813 in Merrickville, Upper Canada, and they had eight children [Billings].
A settlement developed around the Billings farm [Rooney 2004], located on lot 17 in the Junction Gore. Eventually, Braddish acquired several other land holdings in Gloucester, Nepean and Osgoode townships. A sawmill was built in 1823, and in 1829 the family moved to a two-and-a-half-story frame house on the hill [Kitchen 1996]. The settlement eventually grew on both sides of the river [Clark 2009].
Braddish Billings established a ferry which became a convenient way for farmers to cross the Rideau river [Rooney 2004]. Around 1829-30, a bridge was built through private subscriptions on land owned by Billings on both sides of the river [Kitchen 1996, Johnston 1988]. It was a wooden structure, and was repeatedly washed out by spring floods and rebuilt [Hodgson 1998]. The bridge was called the Farmer’s Bridge [IHACC 1879], and the settlement itself came to be known as Farmer’s Bridge, but in 1865 a post office opened under the name Billings Bridge. The first postmaster was David Taylor [Carter 1984].
There were three main thoroughfares in the settlement, on the south shore of the river: (1) the River road, which ran east and northeast towards Hurdman’s bridge, then north towards Janeville and New Edinburgh; (2) the Bowesville road, also called the Long Island road, which ran in a southwesterly direction; (3) the Metcalfe road (later Bank street), which ran south and southeast. By 1876, the privately-owned Ottawa and Gloucester Road Company had macadamized the main intersection in the village, and was charging a toll to cross the bridge [Hodgson 1998].
There was a township hall in the settlement in the 1850s, but little is known about it. In 1874, it was sold at auction, and work began on the construction of a new township hall on the east side of the Metcalfe road. It was a red-brick building, and council met there for the first time in 1875 [Hodgson 1998]. This building served its purpose until a new town hall was completed in Leitrim in 1962 [Séguin 1991].
On 25 December 1854, the first train of the Bytown and Prescott Railway rolled through the Junction Gore, and arrived in New Edinburgh. This railway was renamed the Ottawa and Prescott some time after 1855, and the St. Lawrence and Ottawa in the 1860s. It became part of the Canadian Pacific Railway in 1884. A flag station was erected on the Billings estate [Bond 1965, Kitchen 1996].
The first school occupied a little house, built of square logs by Braddish Billings near his own house, and in it children from families on both sides of the river received the rudiments of an education [IHACC 1879]. In 1867, Lamira Billings, then 71 years old, purchased part of lot 18 from her son Braddish to build a proper schoolhouse for the village [Rooney 2004]. In 1896 a two-story frame school house was erected on lot 18 [Hodgson 1998].
Presbyterian services were held in the first town hall. In 1865, Sabra Billings paid for the construction of a frame church on the north side of the River road, east of the bridge, and it was used by both the Presbyterian and Methodist congregations; it was also known as the Free church. Also in 1865, a Methodist class was started in the settlement, and out of it a Billings Bridge circuit commenced in 1877. Eventually, it thrived so well that its membership outgrew the first Methodist church built on the Billings property [Johnston 1988]. In 1889, Billings Bridge became a separate Methodist circuit, and Sally Billings funded the construction of a red-brick Methodist church, located across the road from the Presbyterian church [Hodgson 1998].
In 1876, work began on the construction of Trinity Anglican Church. It was a brick structure, located on the north side of the river, and the opening service was held on 12 August 1879 [Hodgson 1998]. In 1877, the Anglican parish of Gloucester was established. Its headquarters were located at Billings Bridge, and it had outlying stations at Cowan’s (later Leitrim) and Taylorville [Clark 2006].
Until 1873, Catholics in the settlement came under St. Joseph’s parish in Ottawa. From 1873 until December 1886, Billings Bridge was a mission of the parish of Notre-Dame-de-Lourdes in Cyrville [Lavergne 1986]. In 1879, services were held in the school house by Father Magnan. The parish of St. Thomas was established by Archbishop Duhamel in 1886, and a chapel was built on the west side of the Metcalfe road. It was opened in December 1886, but on 6 June 1888 it was destroyed by a violent storm, and replaced by a brick-faced structure which opened in 1889 [Hodgson 1998, Clark 2006]. A new church was built in 1958 on Kilborn Avenue [Pelletier 1986].
As the community of Billings Bridge expanded, a number of subdivisions were established. The first appeared in 1874 when thirty acres in the south half of lot 19 were converted into a residential neighbourhood known as Gateville, located south of the village and nicknamed Gabtown. During the Great Depression, Gateville was also occasionally referred to as Poverty Hill and Deadbeat’s Hill. Another subdivision appeared in 1892-93 on a one-hundred-acre lot that was subdivided and named Rideau Park by Alexander Mutchmor and also known as Billings Heights [Ottawa Citizen Aug. 27, 1910 p.10] ; it was bounded by Stanley avenue (now Pleasant Park Road) and Billings avenue [Hodgson 1998, Clark 2006]. Until as late as the 1960s, Rideau Park was the home of many market gardeners.
In 1975, the City of Ottawa bought the Billings house and 17.4 acres of land surrounding it. Today, 8.3 acres of land, together with the existing buildings, form the Billings Estate, a historic site having national significance that is managed by the City of Ottawa [Paine 1980].
See Billings Bridge
Originally named Exhibition Landing and built in August 1875, the station served passengers travelling to the Ottawa Exhibition on the St. Lawrence and Ottawa Railway, later the CPR. A siding also allowed for the delivery of freight and livestock destined for the exhibition. The station existed where the railway intersected Billings Avenue and its demolition was authorized in 1961. [Churcher]
A parkhome condominium development by Aevo Company Ltd. south of Innes Road on Glen Park Drive in Blackburn Hamlet bordering on the Greenbelt. It was first marketed on April 6, 1973 [Ottawa Citizen, Apr. 6, 1973 p.53].
The community of Blackburn was part of lots 6 to 15 inclusive in the second, third and fourth concessions of the Ottawa Front. Its southern limit was the Mer Bleue bog and the Canadian Pacific Railway track. It was formerly known as Green’s Creek, Dagg’s Settlement and Daggville [Elliott 1967]. Northeast of Blackburn was the village of St. Joseph (Orleans), and west of it the community of Glen Ogilvie, from which it was separated by Green’s Creek and Mud Creek.
Robert Blackburn was a mill owner who served as reeve of Gloucester Township in 1864. He was the Liberal member for Russell in the House of Commons from 1874 to 1878, and it was during that time that permission was obtained to open a post office in the settlement between Glen Ogilvie and St.Joseph. This was done in 1876. The post office was named Blackburn in honour of the man who had been instrumental in establishing it. During the same year, the community itself was renamed Blackburn [Elliott 1967, Rayburn 1997]. John Hudson was the first postmaster [ArchiviaNet].
The Canadian Pacific Railway line which ran through the Blackburn area was known as the South Shore Line. It extended from Saint-Eugène to Ottawa. In 1890, the Montreal and Ottawa Railway, owned by Canadian Pacific, was opened between Vaudreuil and Rigaud. By 1897, that line reached Alfred, and two years later it extended into Ottawa itself. There were thirteen stations between Rigaud and Ottawa, the last one being Blackburn [Brown 2000]. The last section was built through the Blackburn area in 1898. In 1915, a station and train-siding were built about two miles from the village, which became known as Blackburn Corners as opposed to Blackburn Station, two parts of a single community, with Mud Creek running between them [Elliott 1967].
Around 1865, public school section #21 was established for the Blackburn area. The first school was built of logs in 1865-66 on part of Richard Dagg’s farm, lot 8 in the third concession [Elliott 1967]. The first school was destroyed by fire in 1915. That same year, another school was built on part of Adam Kemp’s farm in the northwest corner of lot 10 in the third concession [Elliott 1967].
Anglican pioneers were meeting as a congregation as early as 1860 in the area of Blackburn. In 1878, work started on the construction of St. Mary the Virgin church on an acre of land donated by Richard Dagg [Elliott 1967]. In 1879, a cemetery was established next to St. Mary the Virgin church [Sevigny 1971].
During the 1950s, Blackburn lost most of its land to the National Capital Commission, and became an island surrounded by greenbelt land, many of its families being forced to relocate their farms. In 1959, the NCC recommended the establishment of a self-contained model community. Dolphin Development Ltd., renamed Costain Estates Ltd., purchased a large acreage of the proposed Blackburn Hamlet, and Gloucester Township zoned the land in July 1963 [Ottawa Citizen, Aug. 1, 1963 p.4].opened Eeight model homes opened for display in 1966. By the end of the century, the planned community of Blackburn Hamlet had been established on the remaining land [Elliott 1967, Ashley 1979, Wackley 2000].
There was a lock at Black Rapids, four miles down river from the end of Long Island, and it was the last lock before reaching the civic boundaries of Ottawa. Black Rapids became a very popular swimming place [Legget 1972]. About one mile north of the Black Rapids lockstation was the Canadian National Railways round house and station (named Federal), where the train stopped regularly to pick up passengers travelling to and from Ottawa [Johnston 1982].
Blossom Park was first mentioned in the Gloucester by-laws in 1911 as a subdivision on the north half of lot 9 in the fourth concession of the Rideau Front. The subdivision failed and most lots were lost to tax arrears. In 1927, a Presbyterian Church was built on Highway 31 (Bank Street) on Lot 6. Lots were again offered for sale by the township in 1953 and most of the remaining lots were built upon in 1955 and 1956. From 1952 to 1958, there was a building boom in this suburban community, located northwest of Leitrim, and south of Hunt Club Road [The Leader, March 1982, p. 5]. A post office was established as Blossom Park on 26 March 1956, and the first postmaster was Fernand Leroux [Carter 1984]. The post office closed in 1973 when door to door mail delivery commenced. There has been considerable infill housing built as a result of further subdivision of the original oversized lots. Many further subdivisions have followed on adjacent land. Blossom Park was named after an apple orchard which was present on site in the 19th century [Ottawa Citizen March 9, 1989 Pg D3].
South of Hawthorne, a high sandy ridge extended south and east into the Mer Bleue bog, and along this ridge several families chose to settle on the dry land, grazing their cattle off the ridge in the bog itself. The ridge was named after Thomas Borthwick, who arrived from Scotland in 1834, and purchased land on the ridge from the Canada Company in 1840 [Ashley 1979]. Later, several Huguenot families settled at the northern end of the Borthwick Ridge [Walker 1968]. A small creek on the ridge was reputedly the site of Indian encampments. This creek ran in a gully that flowed from the north side of the ridge into the Mer Bleue. The early settlers established a strong community which remained until the 1960s [Ashley 1979].
There was a spring near the Borthwick Ridge. The water was collected and pumped from a bricked well located on land belonging to the Borthwick family, north of the ridge, on lot 20 in the fourth concession. William, son of settler Thomas Borthwick, bottled the water and sold it in Ottawa in his own grocery store, and other locations, in the 1870s and subsequent years. The waters had a salty taste [Ashley 1979].
In 1892, work began on the construction of public school #27, Gloucester, on the northeast corner of the Ridge and Anderson roads, about two miles east of Hawthorne. Opened in the summer of 1893, it was known as the Ridge school. The first teacher was Elizabeth MacDougall, who became Mrs. S.B. Gordon [Macartney 1953].
The farming community of Bowesville was established in 1821, east of Black Rapids. In that year, Duncan McKenzie came to Canada from Ross-shire, Scotland, and settled on Gore lot 11. The Gore was a strip of land situated between the second and third concessions of the Rideau Front. In 1830, Richard Bowes and other members of his family arrived from County Monaghan, Ireland. Richard’s part of lot 10 in the second concession became the centre of the community [Johnston 1988].
In 1855, a post office was opened as Bowesville, and the first postmaster was James Gamble. The office closed on 1 April 1928 [Carter 1984]. What came to be known as the Bowesville road stretched in a south-westerly direction from the Billings settlement, curved in a south-easterly direction through Bowesville, and continued on through Johnston’s Corners and points beyond all the way to the St. Lawrence river [Johnston 1988].
The first schoolhouse of public school section #5 Gloucester was a log structure, situated on lot 9 in the second concession. It was probably erected around 1860, at which time Bowesville was known as the Corners. In 1871-72, a second school was built on Gore lot 12. It was a frame one-roomed clapboard school with wooden shingles. It was unique in that the school board had two Roman Catholic trustees and two Protestant trustees. A third school was opened in the fall of 1905. It was a red-brick structure comprising two rooms, erected on a stone foundation, and it was situated on the same lot as the former school. The school trustees had a policy of hiring Protestant and Roman Catholic teachers alternately [Daley 1985, Johnston 1988].
In 1864, a Roman Catholic chapel was erected on lot 10 in the second concession. It was demolished soon after 1905. The Zion Methodist Church was erected on Gore lot 13, part of which was donated for that purpose, in 1873, by Caleb and Henry Hardy, the founders of the Methodist class in Bowesville. In 1925, this church took the name Bowesville United Church [Johnston 1988].
Shortly after World War I, a patch of barren grassland was found to be a natural airstrip. It was used for that purpose, and in July 1927 Charles Lindbergh, a famous pilot in the early days of aviation, came to visit in his Spirit of St. Louis as part of the diamond jubilee celebration of Confederation. Eventually, national defence and commercial air travel led to the disappearance of Bowesville as a rural community, as 3,900 acres of land were expropriated, in 1950, and the area became the home of the Ottawa International Airport [Wackley 2000], later renamed the MacDonald-Cartier International Airport.
In the days of the pioneers, Brady’s Hill was located on Brady’s Sideroad, which ran west on Leitrim Road from the junction of the Bowesville road and the airport fence to the Limebank road [Johnston 1988].
A development of brick bungalows and semi-bunglows by the Minto Construction Company Limited with sales agent Mervin Greenberg. It is located on the north side of Donald Street backing onto the MacArthur Shopping Centre and was first marketed on September 14, 1956 [Ottawa Citizen, Sept. 14, 1956 p. 15]. This would include Spartan and Fullerton Avenues and Eve and Beaudry Streets.
This subdivision was registered on May 12, 1912 and was on an extension of Junction Avenue south of Brookfield Road and only accessible by a bridge over Sawmill Creek. The large park lots were often owned by market gardeners. The quality of housing in the area was often not good, some of which were no more than tar paper shacks. The federal government expropriated the land between 1957 and 1964 to make way for the Airport Parkway, which opened in December 1972 [Ottawa Citizen, Sept. 24, 1982 p.39] and the streets were officially closed in 1965. The bridge that connected the village collapsed on September 13, 1963 under the weight of a bulldozer [Ottawa Citizen, Sept. 14, 1963 p.1, photo]. The area also had the nickname Pollacktown referring to a number of residents of Polish descent. A crushed stone road (now only accessible on foot) still leads to the former site of the Sawmill Creek bridge that led into the village. The name is derived from the location in a field next to a brook (Sawmill Creek).
A development built by Dan McSweeney [Ottawa Citizen, June 6, 1962 p.38] with sales agent Radcliff Realties Limited, it was first advertised on September 30, 1961 and located south of the intersection of Brookfield Road and Kaladar Avenue and adjacent to Heron Park. It’s target market were the government workers at Confederation Heights [Ottawa Citizen, Sept. 30, 1961 p.31]. The name originates from the market gardens that previously were located in the area
The subdivision of Canterbury is located west of St. Laurent Boulevard, between Smyth Road to the north, and Walkley Road to the south [Anon. 1992].
The small urban community of Cardinal Glen is located west of St. Laurent Boulevard, between Beechwood Cemetery to the north and Notre Dame Cemetery to the south [Legendre 2009]. It comprises 144 executive townhouses, built according to various designs. around 1990 [Manor Park Chronicle, Jan-Feb. 2009]. Built in the late 1980s by Timberlay Homes, it is also known as Dunbarton Court [OTTAWAliving.CA]
This suburban community is located east of Blair Road, and south of Montreal Road [NCC 1969], and was developed in the 1950s [Séguin 1991]. A post office was established as Cardinal Heights on 20 December 1954, and its status was changed to sub-post office of Ottawa on 1 September 1959 [Carter 1984]. Cardinal Heights was first advertised on August 31, 1951 [Ottawa Citizen, Aug. 31, 1951 p.28] and on June 4 1952, it was being marketed as a brick bungalow development in a Low Tax area (Gloucester Township). The builder was E. Rose Building Contractor and the realtor was L.H. Thompson Insurance & Real Estate Broker [Ottawa Citizen, June 4, 1952 p.31]. Also in 1952, the city of Ottawa attempted to block the development because it was outside the city boundary [Ottawa Citizen, June 21, 1952 p.28].
Located 20 miles southeast of Ottawa, Carlsbad Springs was named in 1906 after the famous health spa in the Czech Republic, now called Karlovy Vary. In the 1860s, the site was known as Cathartic because of the healing qualities of the waters [Rayburn 1997]. Cathartic was part of lot 3 in the seventh concession of the Ottawa Front. It was situated on the Russell road, and a short distance to the east was the line separating Gloucester Township from Cumberland Township.
In the days of the pioneers, there was a great swamp, about two miles north of Carlsbad Springs, known as the Mer Bleue or the bog. It was about nine miles long and three miles wide, and was covered by a stunted growth of tamarack and spruce trees [Collins 2003]. In the early 1880s, the Canada Atlantic Railway Company drained part of the Mer Bleue for its own purposes, and the result was a stretch of fine pasture land. Some pioneers chose to settle in this area. There was also a marsh running along the whole south side of Carlsbad Springs, and about two miles east of the village was a swamp that extended for about two miles [Bell 1991, Collins 2003].
A creek named Bear Brook runs through Carlsbad Springs. It is a tributary of the South Nation river, which flows into the Ottawa river. It was formerly a much larger stream than it is now, and the pioneers used it for transportation. The early settlement marked the end of navigation on the Bear Brook, and travellers coming from the east would secure their boat at the edge of the brook, and use the Russell road to get to Bytown. In the heyday of the lumber trade, logs could be floated upstream towards Bytown or downstream towards Quebec City [Boyd 2009].
Originally, the Russell road may have followed an Indian trail [Ashley 1979]. It started just east of Cummings Bridge, ran south from the Montreal road along the Rideau river, and turned southeast a short distance past Hurdman’s Bridge, continuing across Gloucester Township. Very early on, the Russell road ended at Forsythe’s place in the settlement that became Carlsbad Springs [Collins 2003], but eventually it continued through Russell Township all the way to the St. Lawrence river [IHACC 1879].
In 1849, James Forsythe, a native of Scotland, bought land from the Canada Company about two miles west of the springs, and built the first house in the settlement [Collins 2003]. The land which Forsythe bought was lot 10 in the seventh concession [Ashley 1979]. Two other early settlers were Peter Childs and James Tierney. Tierney was a native of Tipperary, Ireland. For a while, the Forsythe, Childs and Tierney families had the entire settlement to themselves, and then William Hall arrived from the north of Ireland. Other newcomers began settling along the Russell road west of the mineral springs. One of them was David Boyd, who bought his land in 1852. The first French Canadian to settle in the area was Jacques Lacharité. He bought his land from the Crown in 1856, and built a log house on it [Collins 2003].
On 1 September 1864, Charles Billings sold lot 3 in the seventh concession to Daniel Eastman. There was a boiling spring by the Bear Brook on lot 3, and soon Fred Way was building a rude cottage on the bank of the brook opposite the boiling spring. On 25 October 1864, H.O. Hood, a provincial land surveyor, drew a plan for a village called Cathartic, situated on the north half of lot 3. The village included some twenty-five lots of different sizes [Collins 2003]. In 1867, Eastman built a hotel and stables beside the brook on the north side of the Russell road. From his hotel, Eastman ran a stage to Ottawa. Soon the settlement was being called Eastman’s Springs instead of Cathartic [Collins 2003, Rayburn 1997]. It became the most famous of the early stopping places in the region. Customers were offered hot mineral baths in a wooden shed built over the boiling spring near the banks of the Bear Brook.
In 1870, Eastman sold forty acres of his land to the Dominion Springs Company, and built a second stopping place west of his old location. It was of superior construction, with three entrances and seventeen beds. This place was closed down in 1892, seven years after Eastman’s death. As for the Dominion Springs Company, it built a fine summer hotel and stables, with a stage to Ottawa, a steeplechase course and water from the springs pumped into the hotel for baths. In 1876, a disastrous fire swept the buildings of the Dominion Springs Company out of existence. About one year later, forty acres of land were sold by a Mr. Borbridge, one of the chief shareholders of the Dominion Springs Company, to James Boyd, who built a fine brick house and store [Ashley 1979, Collins 2003, Rayburn 1997].
Initially, Protestants could attend church services in Taylorville or Hawthorne. In 1867, they established a place of worship in the school house near the Forsythe home. Presbyterians and Methodists worshipped in the old school, and there were other Protestants who attended services in Farmer’s Corners a few miles up the Church road. In the summer of 1888, the Methodists, Presbyterians and Congregationalists built a Union Church on the east side of Way street, about fifty yards from the Russell road [Collins 2003].
A Catholic chapel was built of logs where the Church road meets the western border of Cumberland Township, but the bishop found this location inadequate, and the chapel was moved to an eight-acre site that belonged to a man named Kelly, just west of the spot where the railway later crossed the Russell road. The church was dedicated to St. Laurent in 1880, and blessed by archbishop Duhamel on 15 May 1881. Initially, the parish was a mission [Collins 2003, Lavergne 1986]. In the summer of 1895, while Father Myrand was parish priest, a new church was built. It was a large frame structure, erected on a fine blue limestone foundation that stood fully four feet above the ground, on land donated by a man named Warnock. The church was consecrated on 17 February 1896. Father Myrand served the parish for eight years [Collins 2003, Legros 1949].
The first school was opened on a site purchased from James Forsythe on 11 February 1864. It was a log structure, and the first teacher was Agnes McMillan. This was public school section #18 (Gloucester), and it was known as Forsythe’s school. In 1875, a school was built not far away in Cumberland Township, on land obtained from William Cameron. This was public school section #12 (Cumberland), and was known as McLaughlin’s school; its first teacher was Margaret Hume. Around 1887, a new school was built to replace Forsythe’s school. It was a frame building, located east of the old school. Then, in the summer of 1897, a new school was built to replace McLaughlin’s school. It was erected on the same site as the old one [Collins 2003].
The first post office, opened on 1 June 1872, was named Eastman’s Springs after Daniel H. Eastman, its first postmaster, who held the position until his death, which occurred in 1885. R. J. Kyle took over from 1886 to 1889, and was replaced by James Boyd, who was postmaster from 15 January 1890 to 20 September 1906. The change of name to Carlsbad Springs occurred on 1 June 1906 [Carter 1984, ArchiviaNet].
In March of 1879, J.R. Booth launched the largest project of his life up to that time, namely the building of the Canada Atlantic Railway. He wanted to deliver his lumber to markets in the American Northeast [Trinnell 1998]. By July of 1882, regular passenger service began between Coteau Junction, 33 miles west of Montreal, and Casselman in Cambridge Township, east of Ottawa. West of Casselman, the railway passed through six miles of dense forest to Eastman’s Springs, crossed the Mer Bleue, and reached Ottawa. The 78 miles of track were laid by Booth and associates using private funds, and the grades and curves of the well-ballasted roadbed were so easy and gentle that the line was “practically straight throughout.” The first passenger train arrived in Ottawa on 13 September 1882 [Bell 1991].
The first station out of Ottawa on the Canada Atlantic Railway, later the Grand Trunk, was Carlsbad Springs. The train passed about 200 yards south of Eastman’s Hotel. In September of 1906, the train station was destroyed by fire. A new station was built during the following year [Collins 2003]. The Grand Trunk erected a luxurious new building, with a siding that was one mile long to accommodate the number of visitors [Ashley 1979, Walker 1968].
In 1891, interest in the area as a summer resort began to revive. In the spring of that year, James Boyd put up a fine hotel beside his brick house and store. There was slow but steady progress throughout the decade. In 1895, the Johnson family opened another health hotel, with stabling for thirty horses, east of Boyd’s place across the bridge. There were two springs in front of the Johnson building [Ashley 1979].
Carlsbad Springs was again visited by fire on the night of 14 October 1908, which was a Wednesday. Boyd’s hotel was completely destroyed. The fire was discovered around 11 o’clock on Wednesday evening, Boyd being away at the time, with only his wife at the hotel with their young son. They escaped from the building unhurt, but there was no equipment available to quench the flames, so the once handsome structure was reduced to charred remains [The Citizen, Oct. 17, 1908, page 5].
A much larger health spa and hotel was erected in 1909 by Thomas Boyd, with accommodation for 175 guests. It was open during the summer months, and suitable provision was made for visitors to obtain hot sulphur baths and to drink the waters from the various springs, which were enclosed in small summer houses [Elworthy 1918]. Eventually, there were three other hotels owned by the Johnson, Tenenbaum and Epstein families, and they also offered mineral baths and drinking water to health-minded guests. The popularity of Carlsbad Springs as a summer health and recreation centre reached a high point in the 1920s, attracting a large clientele from Ottawa as well as Montreal. Fire destroyed the Tenenbaum and Epstein hotels in 1948, and they were never rebuilt. The Johnson hotel closed in the early 1960s, and the Boyd family closed its health spa resort in 1968 [Ashley 1979, Wackley 2000].
Carson Grove is a residential development located south of Montreal Road and north of Ogilvie Road, with the Aviation Parkway to the west and Bathgate Drive to the east [White 2003]. The first families moved into their new homes in the fall of 1971 [The Ottawa-Gloucester guardian, 30 May 1972, p. 4]. The subdivision was first advertised on November 4, 1971 for occupancy in early 1972. This was a Campeau development of single family homes [Ottawa Citizen, Nov. 4, 1971 p.63].
Castle Heights is a small urban subdivision located east of Vanier, between Forbes to the north and Overbrook to the south [Legendre 2009]. It is located near the intersection of Donald Street and St. Laurent Blvd. on the west side. It was marketed with the slogan ‘Your Home is Your Castle’ by the Castle Construction Co. Ltd. starting on March 6, 1954 [Ottawa Citizen, March 6, 1954 p.31].
See CARLSBAD SPRINGS.
Situated between the Rideau River and the Macdonald-Cartier International Airport, the community of Cedardale lies north of Gloucester Glen [White 2003].
See ROCKCLIFFE AIR STATION.
Located southwest of Orléans Village, this subdivision lies between St. Joseph Boulevard and Innes Road [Anon. 1992]. An article published in the Ottawa Citizen dated 25 May 1987 mentioned Minto Construction as the company which was developing this subdivision.
CHÂTEAU NEUF ESTATES
Development of this subdivision began in 1977 [GOP-18]. It lies east of Boyer Road, between St. Joseph Boulevard and Innes Road [Anon. 1992].
Château Vanier, a major housing complex comprising 531 condominium units in three high-rise buildings, was erected in 1971 [Kimpton 2009], and represented Vanier’s first Château Vanier, a major housing project comprising 531 condominiums occupying three high-rise buildings. Built in 1971, Château Vanier represented Vanier’s first experience with this type of high-rise housing complex
The village of Clandeboye occupied part of lots 4 and 5 in the Junction Gore. It was located north of the Montreal road and west of Notre Dame Cemetery [IHACC 1879]. See also EASTVIEW.
Clarkstown, also called Clarkston, was described as a post office located one and a half miles south of Ottawa. The post office opened as Clarkstown on 1 November 1900 [Carter 1984]. The Ottawa directory for 1890-91 listed 31 residents under the heading of Clarkston Village, “a new settlement being built up on the McKay estate, east of St. Patrick street bridge.” The same directory listed 159 entries under the heading of Janeville, described as a suburb of the City of Ottawa [Anon. 1890]. Clarkstown and Janeville were two distinct entities. Economically and socially, they were quite independent. Clarkstown was located north of Janeville, astride Beechwood avenue, and Janeville was centred on the Montreal road. Clarkstown was more French Canadian than Janeville. The events and circumstances which led Janeville and Clarkstown to become part of the village of Eastview on 1 January 1909 were fairly turbulent [Shea 1964, Laporte 1983]. Subdivision plan 101 was registered in the 1880s under the name Clarkston on Block 29 of the McKay estate on the south side of Beechwood Avenue and the proprietor was Thomas M. Clark, for whom the community was named. It was bounded by Beechwood Avenue, Marier Avenue, Alice Avenue, Landry Street and Charlevoix Street.
A public housing townhouse community built in 1967 at the corner of Russell Road and Walkley Road. [Ottawa Citizen, June 16, 1983 p.27]
First advertised on May 10, 1911, it is located to the east of Rideau Hall in Rockcliffe Park and bounded by Mariposa Avenue, Springfield Road, Maple Lane and Lisgar Road. It was the former site of the homestead of Thomas M. Clark and Clarkston was named after him. Noted for its well treed lots and excellent location, it was being marketed towards more upscale buyers by the sales agent, St. Germain & Fraas. It was named after the Duke of Connaught, Governor-General of Canada, 1911 to 1916 [Ottawa Citizen, May 10, 1911 p.10 and May 30, 1912 p.11].
Housing developers bought about 500 acres of land from the Grey Nuns, just west of the village of Orleans, and work on this subdivision began in 1973 [Wackley 2000, GOP-18]. It is located between the Ottawa River and the Queensway, and is bounded by the Green’s Creek Conservation Area to the west and the subdivision of Orléans Wood to the east [Anon. 1992].
CONVENT GLEN SOUTH
Located between the Queensway and St. Joseph Blvd., this subdivision is bounded by Jeanne d’Arc Boulevard to the west and by Orléans Village to the east [Anon. 1992].
Or simply Cowan’s; see LEITRIM.
A district centred on Cummings Avenue, south of Forbes, and north of Cyrville (Oglivie Road) and east of the St. Laurent Blvd.
This was the community surrounding Cunningham’s Inn located on the present site of MacDonald-Cartier International Airport on the old Bowesville Road. It was the site of the first Gloucester township meeting in 1832. The community later became known as Bowesville.
A charter was granted to the Bytown and Prescott Railway on 10 May 1850. On 25 December 1854, its first train rolled through Gloucester Township, and arrived in New Edinburgh. The Bytown and Prescott was renamed the Ottawa and Prescott some time after April 1855. The Ottawa and Prescott became the St. Lawrence and Ottawa Railway Company, organized on 21 December 1867 [Bond 1965]. There was a station called Cunningham Station on this railroad in 1872 [Carter 1984]. It was located near the community of Cunningham’s later known as Bowesville, where John Cunningham ran an inn. The station was said to be situated at a stone’s throw from Cunningham’s inn. It was later relocated to a site close to lot 19 in the third concession [Johnston 1988]. Gloucester Station is shown on Belden’s map published in 1879 [IHACC 1879].
It could be said that Cyrville was founded when Michel Cyr bought lot 27, in the second concession of the Ottawa Front, on 1 September 1853. He transferred the western half of lot 27 to his son Joseph on 6 August 1854, and the other half went to his son Michel [Leury 1948]. The land “was cut into small parcels and leased at nominal rentals and for long terms” [Bond 1968], which explains why so many Cyrville pioneers lived on lot 27 in the second concession.
Immediately to the east of Cyrville was the community of Glen Ogilvie. As the settlers of lot 27 developed their skills as market gardeners, Cyrville grew in size and importance, acquiring a large back country which included Glen Ogilvie and lands extending towards the Mer Bleue bog south of Blackburn. The village encompassed lots 15 to 27 in the second, third and fourth concessions of the Ottawa Front. Beginning in the late 1860s, gardeners from Cyrville and its back country brought their vegetables and other produce to Ottawa, selling them in Lower Town’s bustling market [Serré 2006].
A post office was opened in 1850 under the name Delorme. The post office was renamed Cyrville in 1892 [Carter 1984]. In the meantime, Lourdes was a name used to designate the community [Clark 2009].
Construction of the Catholic church of Notre-Dame-de-Lourdes began towards the end of 1871 [Legros 1949]. Blessed by Bishop Guigues in 1872, the church was located at the northern end of lot 27. In 1871, Cyprien Triolle had the idea of establishing a shrine dedicated to Our Lady of Lourdes. He won the support of brothers Joseph and Michel Cyr, and the latter donated two acres of land near the church [Leury 1948].
Early on, a common school was built in the village. It was probably a log structure. It became a separate school in 1875, and a more modern frame building was erected. It was destroyed by fire in 1894 [Legros 1949], and a third school was built, also serving as a parish hall [Leury 1948].
The Canadian Northern Railway finished building its Hawkesbury-Ottawa line in 1909, passing through the village of Cyrville, where a station was erected, and continuing through the Junction Gore into Ottawa by way of Hurdman’s bridge [Bond 1965]. The Canadian Pacific Railway line that ran south of Cyrville was known as the South Shore Line, and by 1899 it extended from Saint-Eugène to Ottawa [Brown 2000]. One section of the line was left intact between Blackburn and Ottawa, and can still be seen stretching into the capital under St. Laurent Boulevard south of Cyrville [Serré 2006].
Nowadays, Cyrville is crisscrossed by the huge interchange of Highway 417 and the Queensway where it curves eastward towards Orleans. Many of its old families still live just south of the Queensway [Wackley 2000].
CYRVILLE INDUSTRIAL AREA
Located between the Queensway to the north and Innes Road to the south, this area lies east of St. Laurent Blvd. and west of the Cyrville and Star Top roads [White 2003].
In the days of the pioneers, Davy’s Hill was located on land that became of the Ottawa International Airport. The hill is still there [Johnston 1988].
Other name for Gateville; see BILLINGS BRIDGE.
The Dolman Ridge ran north of the Mer Bleue, stretching into Cumberland Township and also along the Renaud road. It was a sandy ridge, and settlement was slower in this area than it was on the Borthwick Ridge situated about one mile further to the south. The Dolman Ridge was named after justice of the peace John Dolman, who settled in the area. Much of the land was cleared by the 1880s, and new roads had been built, including the Dolman road and part of the Anderson road, which began as the Renaud road before 1860, and eventually became the major road leading to the Dolman Ridge [Ashley 1979, Walker 1968]. The first school of Roman Catholic Separate School Section #27 was built in 1900 on the Martel property [Johnston April 1986].
The Belden map of 1879 shows sulphur springs on lots 15 and 16 in the second concession of the Ottawa Front, with three hotels and a race track on the same lots in the first concession of the Ottawa Front, in the immediate vicinity of Green’s Creek [IHACC]. One of the establishments, called the Victoria Sulphur Springs Hotel, was owned by the Lafleur family. In 1887, guests paid $10.00 for ten days of bathing [Wackley 2000].
See CARDINAL GLEN
See CARLSBAD SPRINGS.
On 1 January 1909, the communities of Clandeboye, Clarkstown and Janeville were brought together to form the village of Eastview. On 1 January 1913, Eastview was incorporated as a town, and on 1 January 1963, it became a city [Shea 1964, Laporte 1983]. It was renamed Vanier in 1969.
Subdivision Plan 333 was registered on May 1, 1912 and surveyed by J.B. Lewis. It covers the area bounded by St. Laurent Boulevard, Prince Albert Street, west of Bernard Street and an extension of King George Street. This is the eastern most section often referred to as Overbrook and immediately south of Castle Heights, which is centred on Donald Street and west of St. Laurent Boulevard.
A bungalow development by Mastercraft with sales agent Guaranty Trust Co. of Canada, it was first advertised on February 7, 1961. It is located east of the intersection of McArthur Road and St. Laurent Blvd [Ottawa Citizen, Feb. 7, 1961 p.39]. This is the southern part of an area also known as Forbes.
This community, originallyalso known as Bannermount, is located just south of the Queensway, and west of St. Laurent Blvd. [White 2003]. The street names were simply named by letter. Bannermount was first registered as a subdivision in 1911 and was heavily publicized but few houses were built. It was directly connected to Hurdman’s Bridge by its main street, Nicholas Street named after Nicholas Tremblay. This street is now known as Tremblay Road. Most of the lots were lost to tax arrears but were again offered for sale by the township in 1941 [Ottawa Citizen June 17, 1941 p16]. Starting in 1958, homes were being sold by Teron Homes under the name Eastway Gardens [Ottawa Citizen April 16, 1958 p44].
The community of Edwards is located on the boundary between the former townships of Gloucester and Osgoode. It lies south of Carlsbad Springs and southeast of Piperville [NCC 1969].
This subdivision is located just east of the Macdonald-Cartier International Airport. It lies between Hunt Club Road and Canadian Forces Base Ottawa (South) [White 2003].
There was a hamlet on the old Metcalfe Rroad (later Bank street), two miles south of Billings Bridge and near the intersection of the Walkley road [Lillico 1958]. It had developed from an influx of market gardeners, and they wanted their own post office. A local surveyor, Charles O. Wood, and a dairy farmer, William Ellis, combined their names into Ellwood, and the post office was established under this name in a store owned by Timothy Jane Cutts (Timothy was already dead)[Walker 1968]. The post office opened on 1 April 1906, and Mrs. Jane Cutts was the first postmistress [Carter 1984]. At one time, the Anglicans of Ellwood were considered to be part of the Trinity parish at Billings Bridge Bridge but between 1927 and 1930 the original Trinity church was rebuilt at the corner of Metcalfe Road and Portland Avenue as St. Thomas the Apostle Anglican Church. The church was demolished in 1957 after a larger church was built on Alta Vista Drive.[Clark 2006]. The village of Ellwood ceased to exist following expropriation by the Federal District Commission in 1949-1950. Buildings were demolished or moved in order to accommodate the Walkley Railway Yards, the Bank Street overpass, and a future parkway that was never to be built
The St. Lawrence and Ottawa Railway Company, later part of the Canadian Pacific Railway, had a station called Chaudiere Junction Station five miles south of Ottawa [Carter 1984]. The St. Lawrence and Ottawa was organized in 1867, but the rail line itself had been established in 18540 by the Bytown and Prescott Railway, renamed Ottawa and Prescott some time after 1855. The first train on this line had rolled through Gloucester Township and into New Edinburgh on 25 December 1854 [Bond 1965]. The Chaudiere Junction Station was renamed Ellwood Station in 1921 [Carter 1984].
Readers of The Evening Journal dated 7 June 1888 were informed of the queer havoc played by an electrical storm in all its vigour upon the brick school house in Ellwood. The storm had struck the community shortly after school was called at one o’clock on the previous day, and had completely knocked out one gable end, sending the brick flying in every direction. Mr. Garrett, the teacher, had been knocked senseless. When he had come to, the children, all of whom had escaped uninjured, had gone for assistance. The school was a sorry ruin. Another newspaper, the Ottawa Citizen, described the storm as a terrible cyclone which swept through Ottawa and District, adding that the brick school house, public school section #3 Gloucester, had the entire side and roof taken out [Clark 2006]. SS#3 school operated for 100 years before it closed as a Gloucester school in 1956. It was briefly used by the Ottawa School Board before it was sold to be used as a business. It was demolished in 1984, the last building surviving from the original village.
After World War II, another subdivision known by the same name was built south and east of the intersection of Bank Street and Walkley Road. This subdivision originally dated from the 1911 land boom and an early map gave it the name of Ridgemont, which was also the name of a second subdivision further to the north.
A development by Campeau Construction Company, housing was first offered for sale in 1955 west of the intersection of Russell Road and Smyth Road. [Ottawa Citizen, March 12, 1955 p. 22]. A shopping centre by the same name opened in 1961 at the corner of St. Laurent Boulevard and Smyth Road.
Located in the Blossom Park area, west of Albion Road and south of Bridal Path, it was a development of single family homes by Tartan that was first advertised on March 20, 1984 [Ottawa Citizen, March 20, 1984 p.72].
See BILLINGS STATION
Part of Alta Vista, it is bounded by Smyth Road (correctly pronounced Smith) to the north and Billings Avenue (Rideau Park) to the south. First advertised on May 16, 1953 by E.S. Sherwood Real Estate Broker [Ottawa Citizen, May 16, 1953 p.34]. Located on high land above the Rideau River, there would have been imposing views of the city.
See BILLINGS BRIDGE.
The core of Farmer’s Corners was its church, which was located on land donated by Gordon Farmer in 1874, on the northwest corner of Farmer’s Way and the eighth line in East Gloucester. The church was built in 1876, and opened as St. David’s Presbyterian Church. It became Farmer’s Corners United Church in 1925. The last minister was Rev. John Wayling, and the church closed in 1962. Initially situated beside the Farmer home, the church served the community for 86 years [Mutters 1975, Johnston 1991 p. 67].
Located west of the Canadian Pacific rail line, east of Bowesville Road and north of Rideau Road, the community of Ficko was developed as a subdivision after Herman Fredrick Ficko purchased, on 20 October 1958, twelve and a half acres of land that were part of lot 24 in the third concession of the Rideau Front. Herman was born on 13 April 1888, and his wife Louise J. Schoen was born in 1897. He died in 1965, and his wife in 1994, and they were buried in the Kemptville Public Cemetery [McCooeye 2010].
It was located on a portion of the Rockcliffe Air Station. Originally known
as the Rockcliffe Emergency Shelter, it made use of the RCAF Women’s Division
barracks starting in 1946 in order to address the post-war housing shortage
especially for returning war veterans and their families [Ottawa Citizen June
3, 1947 p15]. Gradually, the community shifted towards social housing for the
City of Ottawa. A post office opened on September 5, 1947 and named Finter to
honour the family that had at one time owned the land. It closed on May 8, 1952.
The Department of National Defence closed the community on June 30, 1954 and
it was demolished immediately. The operation and closure of the community was
surrounded with considerable controversy. In 1947, Finter housed 1,700 residents.
Eastview Bus Lines and later the Ottawa Transporation Commission offered regular
See ROCKCLIFFE AIR STATION.
This subdivision includes the east half of McArthur Avenue to about half the distance southward towards Donald Street. It was registered on October 6, 1892 under Plan 131 and named after the owner, Flora Peden. Brant and Dieppe Streets are part of Floraville. The surveyor was Henry Osborne Wood.
The community of Forbes is bounded by Montreal Road to the north, Vanier to the west and the Aviation Parkway to the east, with the small subdivision of Castle Heights to the south [Legendre 2009]. The original subdivision was named Eastwood and appeared on a subdivision map dated April 27, 1912 covering parts of the west half of Lot 25 Concession 1 Ottawa Front and south of Montreal Road. The name Forbes likely came about when the post office was opened in Lot 27, Concession 1 Ottawa Front on July 3, 1928. The first postmaster was Diova Ringuett. The Post Office name changed to Ottawa – Forbes on August 1, 1950.
Located in Alta Vista on Kilborn Avenue and a half mile east of Alta Vista, this development is by Simpson and was first advertised on April 26, 1968 [Ottawa Citizen, Apr. 26, 1968 p.51].
Local nickname for Gateville; see BILLINGS BRIDGE.
GATES OF ALBION
Located in Blossom Park area, this subdivision borders the Greenbelt on the west side of Albion Road. It is a development by Holitzner Homes and was first marketed on April 10, 1979 [Ottawa Citizen, Apr, 10, 1979 p.55].
See BILLINGS BRIDGE.
The community of Glen Ogilvie was located within the second, third and fourth concessions of the Ottawa Front, and comprised lots 16 to 26 inclusive. It was an Irish community, begun by William Ogilvie and William Phair [Ashley 1979]. First known as the Ogilvie Settlement [Elliott 1967], it was founded in the early 1840s [Elliott 1991]. To the east was the community of Blackburn, and to the west the village of Cyrville. The school in Glen Ogilvie came under public school section #14, and was a one-room log building [Kemp 1991]. By the late 1860s, Glen Ogilvie had become part of Cyrville [Wackley 2000].
The township of Gloucester was replaced on 1 January 1981 by the newly created city of Gloucester. In that same year, its population reached 72,859, and in 1989 it surpassed the 100,000 mark [Wackley 2000]. In 1987, a new city hall was built at 1400 Blair Place, and Council had its first meeting in the new headquarters on 15 June 1987 [Séguin 1991].
This community, located just west of the Rideau River, lies north of Honeygables and south of Cedardale [White 2003].
Between present-day Montfort Hospital and the National Research Council laboratories
on Montreal Road, there once were important commercial quarries. They have since
been abandoned or filled in. The quarries and the village which developed around
them, with its school and post office, were located on lots 22 and 23 in the
first concession of the Ottawa Front [Walker 1968].
This community was known variously as Gloucester Quarries, Rockville, Rock Village, Robillard, and later Quarries. Until 1963 great limekilns were still visible. From these quarries came much of the stone that built the fabric of Ottawa, including the foundations and interior walls of the buildings on Parliament Hill, and much of the lime that held the stones together [Bond 1961].
There were two major commercial sites along the Montreal road. The first, which has been filled in and built up, was located on the southeast corner of Carson’s Road and Montreal Road. That area is now part of Carson Grove. The second quarry, now abandoned but still visible, lies on the northwest corner of Codd’s Road and Montreal Road, just east of Lang’s Road [Serré 2004].
A post office was opened in July of 1871, under the name Rock Village, and Ellen Mary Evans was the first postmistress. She ran the post office until February of 1884. The post office reopened in June of 1884, and called Robillard [Carter 1984, ArchiviaNet]. The first post office had opened in July of 1871, under the name Rock Village. It was renamed the Quarries in June of 1903, and closed in November of 1961 [Serré 2004].
Gloucester Township was divided into school sections by 1839, and school section #9 was established. Its first school was built at the corner of the Montreal and Baseline roads [Walker 1968]. This first school house must have been a wooden structure. The second school was a stone structure, built on lot 23 in Rockville, in 1858 [Kemp 1991].
GLOUCESTER POST OFFICE
Shortly after World War II, homes started to built on Albion Road and adjoining streets, south of Bank Street. A post office opened in 1952 on the north side of Goth Avenue, just east of Albion Road with the name Gloucester. This post office continued in operation until 1973 when door to door mail delivery was introduced. The area is adjoining the original Blossom Park subdivision. Prior to the opening of the schools in Blossom Park, students in the Gloucester area attended Ellwood School while the earliest students in Blossom Park attended Leitrim School.
See CUNNINGHAM STATION.
In 1879, the Village of Gloucester, described as part of lots 4 and 5 in the Junction Gore, was located north of Beechwood, south of New Edinburgh and east of the St. Lawrence and Ottawa Railway [IHACC 1879]. In 1880, under the heading The Suburbs, the City of Ottawa directory described Gloucester Village as part of the former McKay Estate, in close proximity to Rideau Hall, the Governor General’s residence. Two of its thoroughfares were Dufferin Road and Rideau Terrace [Woodburn 1880].
Subdivision Plan 56 was surveyed by Thomas C. Keefer P.L.S. and certified and registered on October 5, 1875. The community was bounded by Dufferin Street, Rideau Road (now MacKay Street), Beechwood Avenue and Clark Street (now Crichton Street).
Gloucester Village became part of New Edinburgh. In 1887, the 174-acre village of New Edinburgh was annexed by the City of Ottawa, and two years later 148 acres south of New Edinburgh were also annexed by the City of Ottawa [Séguin 1991].
This was the name once given tocommunity was located at the intersection of St. Laurent Boulevard, Russell Road and Smyth Road, before these thoroughfares were redirected as they appear today [Ottawa Citizen 28 August 1947 p. 10]. A tollgate once was situated on Russell Road at this intersection.
See NEW EDINBURGH.
In 1958, Parliament authorized the Federal District Commission to establish a 57-square-mile “greenbelt” around Ottawa. Three fifths of the Greenbelt’s 37,500 acres were located within the township of Gloucester, and between 1958 and 1964 some 1,000 property owners were expropriated. The FDC was replaced in 1959 by the National Capital Commission [Séguin 1991]. Ellwood, Hawthorne, Hog’s Back, Nordic Circle, Hurdman’s Bridge and Brookfield disappeared totally or partially as a consequence of creating the Greenbelt [Clark 2009].
GREEN’S CREEK CONSERVATION AREA
The Green’s Creek Conservation Area is bounded on the north, east and south by the Rockcliffe Parkway, and on the west by the Queensway Industrial Campus [White 2003].
Situated between Heron Road and Kilborn Avenue, a half mile east of Alta Vista Drive, this development was first marketed on November 27, 1965. The homes were built by Bernard Garand and the sales agent was Jack Aaron & Co. Limited Realtors [Ottawa Citizen Nov. 27, 1965 p.25]. Bernard Garand also developed Guildwood Court as a rental garden home development on Heron Road. Marketing began on January 8, 1979 [Ottawa Citizen January 8, 1979 p.49].
See GUILDWOOD ESTATES
See JOHNSTON’S CORNERS.
The rural community of Hawthorne was located southeast of Ottawa, along Green’s Creek and the Russell road. The first settler, C. Law, arrived in 1832 [Carter 1984]. Another pioneer was Gordon Green, who settled at the intersection of the old Heron (later Walkley) and Russell roads [Johnston 1991 p. 68]. The great fire which occurred in 1865 was talked about for as long as residents who had witnessed it were still around. It destroyed the rest of the standing timber in the settlement, and very few buildings survived [Lillico 1958]. On 5 November 1870, A.F. Graham, son of Archibald Graham and Mary Ferguson, purchased lot A in the sixth concession of the Rideau Front. On this property the Graham family established a residence, a store and a hotel [NCC 1994].
In 1859, a small log school house was built, on land owned by George Green, just east of the Russell road and south of the old Heron road. At that time, the community was known as Green’s Corners. A new, more modern school building was erected below the hill around 1870. In 1899, a third school was built, by John Alexander, on higher ground purchased from James Borthwick. It was a one-room brick structure, located on the south side of the old Heron road just west of the Hawthorne road. Miss Heron was the first teacher, having been the last teacher in the former school. The school in Hawthorne came under Public School Section #16 [Miller 1955, Lillico 1958, Friesen 1975, Johnston 1991 p. 48].
The first St. George’s Anglican Church at Hawthorne was a log structure, built in 1864 [Jefferson 1957]. In 1886, Wilson Brothers started building a new church on the Russell road north of the previous church. It was a brick structure, and was consecrated in 1888, as was the adjoining cemetery [Lillico 1958, Baird 1980, Johnston 1991 p. 86].
A post office opened in Graham’s store, under the name Hawthorne, on 1 December 1873, and the community’s name changed from Green’s Corners to Hawthorne. H.F. Graham was the first postmaster, serving until 1902 [NCC 1994, Carter 1984, ArchiviaNet].
The Methodists held church services in the old school house at first, and then, in the 1880s, in the Orange Hall. The nearest Methodist church was at Billings Bridge, and the Methodist Circuit there had outside appointments at Bowesville and Leitrim. People in Hawthorne arranged for the minister to conduct Sunday services in their community, after his other regular services. The first minister to do so was Rev. Samuel Shibley. In the summer of 1892, a Methodist church was built by John Alexander, on property bought from Robert Norton south of the old Heron road and west of the Russell road. It was a wooden structure, with a red-brick veneer and an outside porch, on a three-foot stone foundation with no basement. The church was dedicated on Sunday, 29 October 1892 [Miller 1955, Lillico 1958, Friesen 1975].
The driving force behind the growth of Hawthorne was the railroad. The community was located on the main line of two railways: the New York and Ottawa, and the Canada Atlantic [Carter 1984, Wackley 2000]. A railway station, named Hawthorne Station, was built in 1900 [Lillico 1958]. The converging rail lines were switched at Hawthorne to allow for the use of a single track into Ottawa through Hurdman’s Bridge. The Canada Atlantic, which ran between Ottawa and Montreal, did not stop in Hawthorne. This line later became the Grand Trunk, and later still Canadian National Railways. As for the New York and Ottawa, its train did stop in Hawthorne to pick up and drop off passengers and goods [Wackley 2000]. The track switching centre was located east of the Russell road, and was called the diamond [Johnston 1991 p. 95].
Eventually, the rail lines were re-routed away from Hawthorne, and the highway links were changed. As a result, this once-thriving community has been replaced by a series of suburban and industrial subdivisions [Wackley 2000].
The Ottawa Journal ran an ad in 1960 inviting people to consider living in Hawthorne Meadows, in a home built by Minto Construction Company Limited, developers of a new community in Alta Vista.
A subdivision located to the west of Bank Street and the former CPR right of way and centred on Heron Road, it is bounded by Gateville (Rockingham Avenue) to the north and Brookfield Gardens (Brookfield Road) to the south. Houses began to be sold in 1953 [Ottawa Citizen, April 2, 1953 p.29 and Oct. 15, 1953 p.44] and the area was being marketed on March 5, 1955 by Ottawa Construction Finance Ltd. as close to future government development (Confederation Heights) and parkway and the new shopping centre (Billings Bridge Plaza opened in 1954) [Ottawa Citizen, March 5, 1955 p.33].
Lot 6 in the first concession of the Ottawa Front in Gloucester Township was once owned by two Besserer families. As of the 1850s, they operated a summer resort called Besserer’s Grove. There was a wharf for river boats and barges plying their way between Montreal and the upper Ottawa. Steamers which offered excursion cruises on the Ottawa river would make a stop at this wharf, known as Besserer’s Landing. There was also a hotel not far from the wharf, making this a popular spot for many years. Eventually, a syndicate of real estate men bought the site, and the name was changed to Hiawatha Park [Deveney 1988, Walker 1968]. A seniors home is now located in this area [Wackley 2000].
Located in the Alta Vista area, this subdivision is east of Alta Vista Drive and north of Randall Avenue. It was first advertised on June 15, 1956 with the sales agent being Jack Aaron & Co. Limited [Ottawa Citizen, June 15, 1956 p.23].
The subdivision map dates to May 16, 1867 and was surveyed W.R. Thistle & Company. It includes Block 5 to 10 in Lot 21 Junction Gore on the south side of Heron Road and between Sawmill Creek and Heron Park and the O-Train and Via Rail tracks. The subdivision was never built.See HERON PARK.
Hog’s Back was given its name by James Otterson while experimenting with a timber raft over a large slab of rock on the Rideau river [Johnston 1988]. The finest waterfall on the entire Rideau river system was controlled by the dam at Hog’s Back, where the river and the canal separate [Legget 1972]. The settlement there had a school, built on land donated in 1874 by John Otterson, on lot 1 in the second concession of the Rideau Front. Known as S.S. #7, this school was called Otterson, and later Bayview. Hog’s Back was expropriated by the federal government in 1952, the deadline for removal of the houses and cottages being 30 June of that year [Clark 2009].
This community, located just west of the Rideau River, lies north of Manotick and south of Gloucester Glen [White 2003].
HUNT CLUB ESTATE
The subdivision of Hunt Club Estate is located just east of the Ottawa Hunt and Golf Club. It lies between Hunt Club Woods to the west and Western Community to the east [White 2003].
HUNT CLUB FIELD
See UPLANDS AERODROME.
HUNT CLUB WOODS
Located east of the Rideau River, the subdivision of Hunt Club Woods lies north of the Macdonald-Cartier International Airport [White 2003].
Hurdman’s Bridge started as a small post village on the Rideau river [Anon.1884], and eventually occupied part of lots 9 to 15 inclusive in the Junction Gore. It was bounded on the west by the Rideau river, and on the east by the Baseline road (now St. Laurent Boulevard), with Janeville to the north, and Billings Bridge to the southwest.
William Henry, George and Robert Hurdman were three of the six children born to Charles Hurdman and his wife, Margaret Graham, who settled on the Aylmer road, in Lower Canada, north of Bytown [Aldred 1994]. William Henry moved his family to lot 13 in the Junction Gore of Gloucester Township in 1873, settling on a homestead called Waterford Farm. Robert settled on lot 14 in the Junction Gore; his residence was known as Victoria Cottage [IHACC 1879]. George Hurdman was listed as a resident of lot 12 in the Junction Gore [Mitchell 1864]. The Hurdmans built a bridge over the Rideau river to link their piling grounds in the township of Gloucester with their lumber mills at the Chaudière falls. Their company became one of the largest at the Chaudière during the 1880s [Aldred 1994].
The first school house in the village was located south of the bridge. It was a log structure, and was large enough for the teacher to live in the building. The first teacher was a man named Bradburn [Wilson 1928]. In the early 1880s, there was a one-room brick school in the village. It had a pointed roof, a porch entrance and a box stove in the centre. The building was located on the Russell road a short distance south of the bridge [Wilson 1937].
A post office was opened under the name Hurdman’s Bridge on 1 July 1879. The first postmaster was Patrick Henry Cassidy, who served from July 1879 to May 1886. His wife Julia served as postmistress from December 1886 until her death. Julia’s sister, Mary Ann Cangley, was postmistress from August 1903 to September 1915 [Carter 1984; ArchiviaNet].
Trains and railroads were part and parcel of life in the village. The first tracks to run through the Junction Gore were those of the Bytown and Prescott Railway Company. Its first train arrived in New Edinburgh on 25 December 1854. In 1880, construction began on the Canada Atlantic Railway link between Ottawa and Coteau (Quebec) near the St. Lawrence river. The first train steamed into Ottawa on 13 September 1882 [Bond 1965]. Another railway link was completed between Ottawa and Montreal around 1898. It was immediately acquired by the Canadian Pacific Railway, and became known as the South Shore Line. There were thirteen stations between Rigaud and Ottawa, the last one being located in Blackburn [Brown 2000]. Another rail link was the Canadian Northern, whose Hawkesbury-Ottawa line was finished in 1909, with a station in the village of Cyrville, about one mile east of Hurdman’s Bridge [Bond 1965]. Yet another rail link into Ottawa was established from the south-east. It was called the New York and Ottawa Railway, and was part of the New York Central Railway system, which linked New York State to Ottawa via Cornwall Junction on the St. Lawrence river [Brown 1994].
The community of Hurdman’s Bridge disappeared from the landscape when the Greenbelt was created in the 1950s and 1960s.The community of Hurdman’s Bridge disappeared from the landscape in the 1950s and 1960s as result of implementation of the Greber plan that led to the rerouting of roads and railways in the area, the construction of the Queensway, the opening of the new Ottawa railway station, and the development of industrial parks and RCMP headquarters.
Located on part of Lot 12 Junction Gore on land once owned by Agnes Hurdman,
the subdivision was on the south side of Russell Road, which is today’s
Terminal Avenue in the vicinity of the main Ottawa Post Office and sortation
facility. The subdivision Plan 339 was registered on May 2, 1912, surveyed by
Frank E. Patterson and the subdivision appeared on Ottawa maps dated 1913 and
1936, although the street layout was likely never built. With the major road
and railway changes that took place in the area during the 1960s, any evidence
of the existence of this community is now gone.
A rental development by Costain in Blackburn Hamlet [Ottawa Citizen, Jan. 14, 1975 p.30].
Located near Manotick Station, James Flinn lived there in 1860 [Ottawa Citizen, June 6, 1925 p.1]
The village of Janeville was located on the Rideau river [Anon.1884], starting at Cummings Bridge and bounded by the Montreal road on the north and McArthur avenue on the south [Woodburn 1879]. It occupied part of lots 6 and 7 in the Junction Gore [IHACC 1879], and initially extended eastward as far as the St. Lawrence and Ottawa railway track [Shea 1964], but eventually its eastern limit was the Baseline road, now St. Laurent Boulevard. The St. Lawrence and Ottawa became the Canadian Pacific Railway in 1884 [Bond 1965], but no passenger terminal was ever built in this community.
In 1873, Donald McArthur, who had acquired land in the area in the 1830s, got together with Robert Cummings, a son of pioneer Charles Cummings, and they established a planned community where Ottawa merchants and public servants could establish a peaceful residence, away from the noise and bustle of the city. McArthur’s wife was named Jane, and the village was called Janeville [Shea 1964].
There were two toll gates in Janeville, one for the Montreal road going east, the other for the Russell road which started just east of Cummings Island and ran south to Hurdman’s Bridge. In later years, a second gate was added a few hundred yards further east on the Montreal road, in order to stop anyone who might try to run the first gate [Shea 1964]. People who were travelling from Ottawa to Cyrville, Blackburn and beyond could, after crossing the Rideau river at Cummings Bridge, use Victoria street in Janeville and continue in a south-easterly direction. By avoiding the Montreal road going east, and the Russell road going south, they had no toll to pay [Leury 1948].
Early settlers who adhered to the Church of England could attend services at St. Alban’s in Ottawa or at St. Bartholomew’s in New Edinburgh. As of 1866, Canon Edward A.W. Hanington, rector of St. Bartholomew’s, took services in private homes in Janeville and in the old public school on Victoria street. The construction of St. Margaret’s Episcopal (Anglican) Church on the Montreal road began in 1887. The site was given by the Misses Olmstead, and the stone was donated by Honoré (Henry) Robillard, owner of the Gloucester Quarries. The architect was F. Thomas, and the contractor was William Taylor. Lady Macdonald, wife of the prime minister, placed the cornerstone on 13 October 1887, and the church was completed in the spring of the following year, the dedicatory service taking place on 29 April. Canon Hanington was in charge from 1887 to 1889 [McNeill 1958].
A Roman Catholic parish was founded in Janeville on 4 August 1887. It was named Notre-Dame-de-Lourdes, which was also the name of the parish founded in Cyrville in the early 1870s. Since 1873, Janeville had been a mission of the Cyrville parish. The archbishop’s decision to transfer the parish to Janeville, and build a church on the Montreal road near Notre Dame Cemetery, was based on the premise that Cyrville was too far from the centre of the area’s growing population. The design for the new church, drawn by Canon Georges Bouillon, was inspired by the basilica in Lourdes, France. Archbishop Duhamel, who consecrated the new church on 29 July 1888, put the Montfortain Fathers, a congregation founded in France in 1705, in charge of both the Cyrville and the Janeville parishes [Serré 2006, Bourassa 1975].
In 1883, Public School Section #25 Gloucester was founded, and in 1884 a one-room school was built in Janeville. Located on Victoria street, it was a frame structure, with plastered walls. Five years later, a second classroom was added. A larger school was built in 1910 [Shea 1964, Wilson 1937, Laporte 1983].
In December of 1888, a Catholic separate school board was established to serve the Janeville area. A school was built on the south side of the Montreal road, at the corner of Third avenue. It was opened in September 1889. In 1891, a religious congregation, the Daughters of Wisdom, was put in charge of the Janeville separate school. This congregation, which assisted the Montfortain Fathers in their ministry, established a novitiate and a boarding school near the church of Notre-Dame-de-Lourdes [Shea 1964, Bourassa 1975].
The residents of Janeville requested a post office in 1875, and waited four years to have their request granted. On 1 March 1879, a post office was opened on Cummings Island, and the first postmistress was Mrs. Agnes Cummings, who named the post office Cummings Bridge. Mrs. Cummings held the position for nearly 42 years, resigning on 7 January 1921. In the early years, Cummings Bridge, as a postal district, included two suburbs of Ottawa, Janeville and Clarkstown. Clarkstown eventually obtained its own post office, which opened as Clarkstown on 1 November 1900 [Carter 1984, Laporte 1983, ArchviaNet]. Janeville and Clarkstown were two distinct entities, and the events and circumstances which led them to become part of the village of Eastview on 1 January 1909 were fairly turbulent, the result being a forced marriage of sorts [Shea 1964, Laporte 1983].
Johnston’s Corners is located at the intersection of Albion and Rideau roads, just south of the Rideau Carleton Raceway [White 2003]. In the days of the pioneers, it was called Hardscrabble because the first settler, James Johnston, said he had a hard scrabble getting to his lot. He and his wife, Margaret Jane Groves, came to Canada from Northern Ireland. There were two trails leading from Johnston’s Corners to Bytown. One trail led across Bowesville to Black Rapids, and continued along the Rideau river. The other trail ran north along the Metcalfe road (later Bank street) [Johnston 1980].
The first school in the community was built of logs in 1838. It came under Gloucester public school section #4. By 1864, it was deemed too small, so a larger log school was erected, further south. A third school was built in 1880 on the same site as the second. It was a red-brick structure, and some time after 1914 the exterior was stuccoed [The Leader January 1983, Johnston 1987].
The first religious service in the settlement was held on 27 January 1834 in the stone house of pioneer James Johnston. It was a baptismal service, with the Rev. John Cruikshank of St. Andrew’s Presbyterian Church in Ottawa officiating. A log church was completed in 1845, with an adjoining graveyard. The congregation was served by Rev. William Lochead, who lived further south in Osgoode Township, where he also served the Spring Hill congregation. The two congregations united with the Presbytery of Kingston in the Synod of Canada in connection with the Free Church of Scotland. In 1873, Rev. Lochead was replaced by Rev. John Munro, and a larger church building was completed in 1880. It measured 32 feet by 44 feet, with solid brick walls and a tower. This new church also had an adjoining cemetery [Johnston 1980].
A post office was established in the community in 1893, and the first postmaster was Kennedy Johnston. The office closed on 9 April 1913 [Carter 1984].
The suburban community of Kempark (also spelled Kemp Park) is located north of Leitrim and south of the intersection of Bank Street and Conroy Road [Carter 1984, White 2003]. It was named after George Kemp, who managed to get his plan to subdivide the family farm approved by Queen’s Park in the early 1950s, just before the Greenbelt was established [Chianello 1996].
Located in Alta Vista south of Pleasant Park Road and a half mile east of Alta Vista, this development is by Simpson and was first advertised on March 2, 1968 [Ottawa Citizen, March 2, 1968 p.44].
Kingsview Park is a subdivision of Eastview. It is located north of Montreal Road between the Rideau River on the west and the Vanier Parkway on the east [NCC 1969], and was nicknamed Little Rockcliffe as an enclave of well-to-do Anglophones in a predominantly Francophone segment of Eastview. One of its streets was named Tudor Place in 1943 [Paquette 2010]. A 1937 advertisement offered 60 foot by 120 foot lots, completed roads, water and sewer services and a property tax exemption until 1940. It was being marketed by Thomson & Scott Real Estate & Insurance [Ottawa Citizen, June 12, 1937, p.9]
A small subdivision within Rockcliffe Park. It is located on the west side of McKay Lake previously known as Hemlock Lake and bounded by Mariposa Avenue, Cloverdale Road and Old Prospect Road. Plan 159 was registered on March 21, 1896 and the surveyor J.B. Lewis. The owners were A.H. Eales, Annie Christine Clark and Jessie Crichton Clark.
Subdivision Plan 198 was registered on June 11, 1900 and surveyed by Henry Osborne Wood. The owner was Albert Walkley. It included land adjacent to Ledbury Avenue between Albion Road and Bank Street. In November 1968, families began to move into public housing townhouses [Ottawa Citizen, Nov. 9, 1968 p.57] in the northwest part of this subdivision. The townhouses were located behind the former Ellwood school, Gloucester School Section 3, which was originally built in 1856 and demolished in 1984. The townhouse development was also known as Ridgemont Terrace. The south side of the original subdivision became Ledbury Park. This community was also known in earlier times by the post office name of Ellwood. The post office was located immediately south of Ledbury Avenue on Bank Street. See also ELLWOOD and CHAUDIERE JUNCTION.
The community of Leitrim is centred on the intersection of Leitrim Road and Bank Street South [White 2003]. It was initially called Cowan’s Settlement, or Cowan’s, after the family of David Cowan family [Clark 2006]. When a Post Office was requested, the name Cowansville was suggested but was refused because that name was already in use in Quebec. Leitrim was then chosen as an alternative as it was the county in Ireland in which the Cowan family originated. The Post Office opened in 1883 and closed in 1917 when rural postal delivery commenced. The building that had been used for the General Store and Post Office was demolished in 2009., and the name Cowansville was used in the 1880s, being replaced by Leitrim in 1890-91 [Ormsby].
In 1837, William Fenton donated land for a church and a cemetery. On this land, during the same year, the settlers erected a clapboard building, painted white, which served as the first Methodist church. In 1878, a larger church was deemed necessary, and a brick structure was erected, serving until some time after church union in 1925. The property adjoining the church was used as a cemetery from the time the first log chapel was built [TB-L]. The church was sold to the Leitrim Women’s Institue in 1940 and it served as the community centre into the 1960s. It was demolished when the Leitrim Arena opened in 1969. The Methodist church was located at the corner of Bank Street and Analdea Drive and a few tombstones are still present.down the road from the English church; it has long since disappeared [Dowe 1973].
The Anglican pioneers in the settlement built a church in 1860 on the site of the common burial groundssome time before 1875, on lot 16 in the fourth concession of the Rideau Front and donated by David Cowan. It was the first English church in Gloucester. The Rev. Charles .P. Emery was the first clergyman of the mission at Gloucester. For a number of years, the church was mostly inactive.In 1874, Gloucester and New Edinburgh were joined under the charge of the Rev. G.N. Higginson. This lasted only briefly, and soon Gloucester was joined with Osgoode and Billings Bridge under the Rev. W. and the burial grounds were vandalizedWright [Dowe 1973]. In 1877, the Anglican parish of Gloucester was established. It was headquartered at Billings Bridge, and had outlying stations at Cowan’s and at Taylorville. The church was named St. James in 1878 [Clark 2006].
The school in the settlement came under Gloucester public school section #2. It was located across the road from St. James’ church and on land also donated by David Cowan [Clark 2006].
On 17 June 1881, half an acre of land, located about one mile north of St. James’ church, was deeded to the incorporated Synod of the Diocese of Ontario, which had been divided from the Diocese of Toronto in 1861, to be used as a cemetery. It was later also used by the congregation of the Gloucester Presbyterian Church, and is today known as the Wood’s Memorial Cemetery [Dowe 1973].
Tired of travelling to pick up the mail, the Cowan and Fenton families petitioned for the establishment of a post office. Both families had come to Canada from County Leitrim in Ireland, so the new post office was named Leitrim. It opened on 1 May 1883, and the first postmaster was Henry Cowan, who served until 21 December 1897. He was replaced by George Wilson, who served from 1 November 1898 to 26 September 1899 [Clark 2006].
In the winter of 1961-62, the township of Gloucester built a new town hall on Leitrim Road to replace the old building which had served as the first town hall in the community of Billings Bridge. The transfer from Billings Bridge to Leitrim took place in 1962 [Séguin 1991, Wackley 2000]. The new building continued to serve as the township and city hall until 1988 when it relocated to near Blair Road and the Queensway. It now serves as a senior citizen community centre and the office of the Gloucester Historical Society.
The community of Limebank, located on Limebank Road, lies southeast of Honeygables and southwest of Ficko [White 2003]. Early on, the name was spelled Lime Bank. In the days of the pioneers, it had a log school, identified as public school section #12 [Walker 1968]. When the post office opened in 1886, it was named Lime Bank due to the discovery of lime in the area, and also because of the construction of a lime kiln. The first postmaster was Francis Hardy [Carter 1984]. He was appointed on 1 September 1886, and served until 20 March 1900 [Clark 2006]. The first school was replaced in 1875 by a frame building. It was located on lot 25 in the second concession of the Rideau Front, on half an acre of land on Robert Gamble’s farm [Armstrong].
See UPLANDS AERODROME.
Lindenlea is an urban community located directly south of Rockcliffe Park and north of Beechwood Avenue, with New Edinburgh to the west and south [Legendre 2009]. It is bounded by Springfield Road to the west, Maple Lane to the north and Acacia Avenue to the east. This was Canada’s first planned community designed for low income home buyers. The City of Ottawa originally purchased the land in the early 1900s and the community was designed by Thomas Adams as a Garden City suburb, popular in England at the time. It featured curving tree lined streets, cul de sacs and plenty of parkland. Its early development was surrounded with controversy as the small homes were still out of reach of low income families, and many homes were not properly completed leaving buyers unhappy. The housing commission resigned, and a secretary was imprisoned when money was found missing and the city treasurer and auditor quit over the issue. This neighbourhood has subsequently become highly desireable and the houses have been renovated and improved over the years. Lindenlea originated from the name of the residence of General Frederick Dobson Middleton who lived onsite during the 1880s. A street is named in his honour. General Middleton is famous for leading 900 men to victory over Louis Riel at Batoche in Saskatchewan and subsequently ending the Cree uprising in 1885.
See KINGSVIEW PARK.
LONG ISLAND LOCKS
See LONG ISLAND VILLAGE.
LONG ISLAND VILLAGE
Long Island, on the Rideau waterway, had rapids along its full length of about four miles. The Long Island dam and locks were located about half a mile from the narrow downstream point of the island, and the three locks clung closely to the right bank of the river [Legget 1972]. By the time the Rideau canal was completed in 1832, some of the workers had settled southeast of the Long Island locks [Johnston 1982]. By the late 1850s, however, Manotick had replaced Long Island Village as the centre of activity, due to the construction of flour and saw mills [Johnston 1980], and by 1891 the original Long Island settlement had all but disappeared [Carroll 1997].
Around 1846, a Methodist church and manse were built southeast of the locks on the Rideau road. A short distance farther south, Anglicans and Presbyterians shared a small log building called the Union church, and they also shared the cemetery [Carroll 1997].
Initially, the mail was fetched from the village of Manotick [Johnston 1982]. John Rodgers was appointed postmaster on 6 February 1853, and served until 11 May 1856. He was replaced by George Rickey from July to December 1856, and Moses Gamble took over from 1 July 1857 to 5 August 1872. The post office closed on 31 July 1874 after David G. Boyd had declined the position of postmaster [Clark 2006].
Located at the corner of Lynda Lane and Pleasant Park Road, this development was first established in the 1950s.
MACDONALD-CARTIER INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT
Located east of the Rideau River, between Hunt Club and Leitrim roads [White 2003], this airport occupies a large area, and connects the national capital with the rest of the world. In 1928, the Ottawa Flying Club started to fly two Tiger Moths from a field that later became the Ottawa International Airport. In the early days, the area was known as Uplands Aerodrome, Hunt Club Field and Lindbergh Field. In the 1930s, it was called Ottawa Airport as well as Uplands Airport. In the 1950s, the Federal Department of Transport and the Department of National Defence expropriated 3,900 acres of land in Ottawa and Gloucester to enlarge the airport by a factor of ten, and the new Ottawa International Airport was opened in 1960 [Séguin 1991, Wackley 2000].
The present urban community of Manor Park is comprised of Manor Park proper and Manor Park East. Manor Park proper is located on what used to be lots 1 and 2 of the Junction Gore; its western limit is Birch Avenue, its eastern limit St. Laurent Boulevard, its northern limit Sandridge Road, and its southern limit Hemlock Road. Manor Park East is located on what used to be lot 26 of the Ottawa Front; its western limit is St. Laurent Boulevard, its eastern limit the Aviation Parkway, its northern limit the RCMP Training Centre, and its southern limit London Terrace [Serré 2008].
An aerial photograph taken in 1928 confirms vividly that Manor Park was then an expanse of bush and woods [Anon.1999, Voller 1981]. The names Rockcliffe Annex and Manor Park were both used to designate the community which nowadays is known only as Manor Park/Manor Park East. A plan of subdivision was filed around 1910 for much of what is now Manor Park. Most of the lots were sold, and subsequently all lots reverted to Gloucester Township for tax arrears [Rhodes 1979]. The name Manor Park was used as early as the 1910s [Serré 2008]. Rockcliffe Annex was first listed as a suburb of Ottawa in the 1915 city directory [Might 1915].
In the 1930s, residents of Rockcliffe Annex had a choice of schools. Families residing west of the Baseline road (now St. Laurent Blvd.) sent their children to the Rockcliffe Park Public School, whereas most of the families living east of the Baseline road sent their children to the old Quarries school on the Montreal road [Voller 1981].
The first glimpse of Manor Park as we know it today was a scale model in the window of the A.J. Freiman department store on Rideau Street in Ottawa. It appears that the key initiator of this community was a real estate broker named Ned Rhodes Sr., who began planning for Manor Park around 1945. With his partner Radcliff and five others (lawyer Warwick Beament, contractor Kenneth J. Greene, retired army officer Churchill Mann, chartered accountant Bruce Davis and an officer of the Department of External Affairs named Evan Gill), he formed a development company called Manor Park Realty. Fifty acres of land were purchased from the Keefer estate, and other lots were bought from Gloucester Township. Houses which had already been built on lots sold by Gloucester were either purchased or expropriated to maintain the integrity of the development plan. Approximately two acres of land which had previously been sold to general Churchill Mann for a stable were later the site of the Church of St. Columba. The next steps were negotiations with Gloucester for a sewer, and with the City of Ottawa to tap into a water main. Peerless Houses of Canada, a Boston-based firm, provided architectural plans and a community design. Construction began in 1948 and continued into the 1950s [Graham 2005, Rhodes 1979].
The concentrated rural community of Manotick was mapped on the four corners of the townships of Nepean, Gloucester, Osgoode and North Gower. As for Manotick Station, it was a dispersed rural community located in Osgoode Township about three miles from Manotick [Carter 1984]. Manotick was incorporated as a police village in 1903 [Séguin 1991].
This community is located on the boundary between the former townships of Gloucester and Osgoode. It lies east of the Long Island Locks and south of Ficko [White 2003].
In 1942, the federal government expropriated some 1,450 acres of land in the twenty-square-mile Mer Bleue area in order to establish a bomb testing zone [Séguin 1991].
The subdivision Plan 316 was registered on July 19, 1911. The community was located in Lot 23 Junction Gore facing north from Walkley Road in the vicinity of Sawmill Creek and the O-Train railway crossing. It was named because of the location’s excellent view of the Eardley Escarpment. The community was never built as the plan was cancelled on December 4, 1964 in preparation for the later construction of the Airport Parkway.
This community is located south of Mooney’s Bay along the Rideau River, and west of the Airport Parkway [Anon. 1992].
Upon completion of the Rideau canal in 1832, Thomas McKay encouraged the canal workers to settle on part of the 1,000-acre estate which he had acquired in the northwest corner of Gloucester Township, just east of the Rideau falls. The new settlement occupied part of lots 3, 4 and 5 in the Junction Gore [Anon. 1975, IHACC 1879]. McKay had started planning his village as early as 1830 [Edwards 1975]. The new settlement was laid out into lots around 1834, and named New Edinburgh [Bush 1985]. McKay’s first home was built at the corner of Charles and Rideau (later Stanley) streets [Askwith 1944]. A second, larger residence was completed in 1838 [Bush 1985]. New Edinburgh was incorporated as a village in 1866 [Carter 1984], and the first municipal meeting was held on 21 January 1867. The first reeve was Robert Blackburn [IHACC 1879].
Initially, the settlement grew eastward in the direction of Governor’s Bay on the Ottawa River, where a colony of tenant farmers and tradesmen rented land from McKay [Edmond 2005]. Eventually, the village developed southward from the top of the hill [Askwith 1944]. By 1832, Thomas McKay had constructed a saw mill near the Rideau falls. A water-powered flour mill was built in 1833, and a bakery was erected a year later. McKay added a distillery in 1837, as well as a cloth factory, which stood where the Embassy of France was later built. Further from the river McKay had his grist mill [Bush 1985; Walker 1968]. In the early 1850s, McKay started selling off his milling interests. Following his death in 1855, a family holding company, MacKay and Company, administered the will and oversaw the leasing and selling of properties [Edmond 2005].
A charter was granted to the Bytown and Prescott Railway on 10 May 1850, and the first train arrived in New Edinburgh on 25 December 1854. During the following spring, a bridge over the Rideau river was completed, and the trains could enter Bytown, now only two hours from Ogdensburgh, New York [Brault 1981]. The Bytown and Prescott was renamed the Ottawa and Prescott some time after April 1855. The Ottawa and Prescott became the St. Lawrence and Ottawa Railway Company, organized on 21 December 1867 [Bond 1965].
A post office was established in the village under the name New Edinburgh on 2 October 1865. The first postmaster was James Blackburn [Carter 1984].
The first school was located in what was then known as the Barn field, south of the boundary fence, on Chrichton street. It had one large room with no partitions. The first school-master was David Wardrope [Askwith 1944]. The second school in the village was opened on John street in 1838. It occupied one part of a stone structure that had been erected for McKay’s workers, and the teacher occupied the other part of the building [Mika 1983; Sproule 1958]. James Fraser, who had taught in his native Scotland before opening a private school in Montreal, Lower Canada, became the first teacher in this second school. He moved from New Edinburgh to Bytown in 1844 [Sproule 1958; Walker 1968]. William Stewart succeeded James Fraser in the John street school [Edwards 1975]. The third school house was situated on Alexander street [Walker 1968]. It was later used as a church, a Sunday school and a concert hall. The fourth school was located at the corner of Charles and Chrichton streets [Askwith 1944].
In 1867, Viscount Monck, Governor General of the Dominion of Canada, gave a benefit concert for the building fund of St. Bartholomew’s Anglican Church, and in 1868 an attractive Gothic chapel was erected at the corner of Victoria and MacKay streets [Walker 1968; Woods 1980]. The first rector was Rev. George Noel Higginson, who served the parish from 1867 to 1878. The second rector, Rev. Canon E.A.W. Hanington, served the parish from 1878 to 1917 [Anon. 1975; May 1967]. In March of 1874, a subscription list was started for funds to build a Presbyterian church. Construction of the New Edinburgh Presbyterian Church, at the corner of MacKay and Dufferin streets, was completed in 1875. There was a name change to MacKay Presbyterian Church in 1901 [Edwards 1975].
Thomas McKay’s eleven-room limestone residence was completed in 1838 [Bush 1985]. It was dubbed McKay’s Castle by the local inhabitants, but the family simply referred to it as Rideau Hall, a name suggested by McKay’s daughter Elizabeth [Edmond 2005]. Approached through a long avenue of trees, the original Rideau Hall was surrounded by a lawn reputed to be the finest in Canada, and a garden covering several acres abounded in fruits, vegetables and flowers [Brault 1981]. In 1865, the Canadian government leased Rideau Hall from Thomas MacKay’s estate as a residence for the Governor General. Three years later, the government purchased the residence as well as 88 acres of land surrounding it [Woods 1980].
For several years, travelling from New Edinburgh to Ottawa was made difficult by seasonal factors such as dust, potholes and mud. Eventually, a horse-drawn railway system was set up to connect New Edinburgh with the city centre. It was incorporated as the Ottawa City Passenger Railway Company (OCPRC) in 1866 [Nelles 1998], and the first president was Robert Blackburn. The line opened four years later, at which time the office was in the village, with T.C. Keefer as President, and Robert Surtees as Secretary [Irwin 1870, Elliott 1991]. During the first five years, the street car was controlled by the MacKay estate. Initially, the single track line ran as far as Rideau street in Ottawa, but it was later extended to the Chaudière [Walker 1968]. When the streetcars first operated in the Burgh, there was no loop, so the end of the line was at Alexander and Ottawa streets [Proulx 1991]. In 1890, the Ottawa Electric Railway Company was established, and three years later the OCPRC was absorbed into it [Ross 1927].
Today’s community of New Edinburgh extends from the Ottawa River to Beechwood Avenue, with the Rideau River to the southwest and, to the northeast, the grounds of Rideau Hall and Lindenlea [Legendre 2009].
The subdivision was first registered on April 16, 1923 as Point Bon Homme under Subdivision Plan 403 along the banks of the Rideau River near the current intersection of Riverside Drive and Data Centre Road. The community mainly developed shortly after World War II but was short lived because of repeated flooding and because federal plans to eliminate all residences along east shore of the Rideau River between Hog’s Back and the Ottawa River. All the housing was removed or demolished by the late 1950s. The location is now a park.
Centred on Navan Road, this community straddles the boundary between the former townships of Gloucester and Cumberland [White 2003]. It is located halfway between Navan and Blackburn Hamlet [Wackley 2000]. It was formerly called Saint-Ernest, but is now named after the Catholic church located there, whose patron saint is Our Lady of the Fields. The parish was planned as early as 1919, but it was only implemented in 1954. The church was completed in 1955, and blessed on 27 May 1956 [Hurtubise 1998].
See GLEN OGILVIE.
Located off of Heron Road at Briar Hill Drive, this development by Bernard Garand and marketed by Jack Aaron Co. Limited Realtors was first advertised on February 21, 1968 [Ottawa Citizen, Feb. 21, 1968 p.46].
The village of St. Joseph (Orleans) was part of lots 1, 2 and 3 in the first concession of the Ottawa Front [IHACC 1879]. It was located on the old Montreal road in the northeast corner of Gloucester Township. Most plausibly, the village was named Saint-Joseph d’Orléans in 1860 by the first postmaster, Théodore Besserer, after his birthplace on the island of Orléans east of Quebec City [Rayburn 1997].
Lot 6 in the first concession of the Ottawa Front in Gloucester Township was once owned by two Besserer families. As of the 1850s, they operated a summer resort called Besserer’s Grove. There was a wharf for river boats and barges plying their way between Montreal and the upper Ottawa. Steamers which offered excursion cruises on the Ottawa river would make a stop at this wharf, known as Besserer’s Landing. There was also a hotel not far from the wharf, making this a popular spot for many years. Eventually, a syndicate of real estate men bought the site, and the name was changed to Hiawatha Park [Deveney 1988, Walker 1968].
The first Catholic chapel in Orleans was built of square timber around 1849 on lot 3 in the first concession of the Ottawa Front. This land was owned by François Dupuis. A second chapel was built in the late 1850s, on the north side of the Montreal road and west of the creek, facing today’s Belcourt Boulevard. The first resident priest arrived at the end of 1860. Around 1871, construction began on a stone church located on the north side of the Montreal road and east of the creek. After fourteen years of toil, this church was finished in 1885. The old chapel was eventually transformed into a private home after serving as the parish hall. In 1917, work began on the present Gothic-style church, which stands on the same site as the previous stone building. Father Alphonse-Marius Chaîne, the first parish priest, served from September 1860 to November 1873 [Legros 1949, Nadon 1974, Émery 1985, Deveney 1988].
In 1859, Father Gustave Ébrard, the last parish priest of the Cumberland Mission to visit St. Joseph, noticed the growing number of people coming to the chapel, and asked the government to establish a post office in the village. Permission was granted, and a post office was opened on 1 July 1860. Théodore Besserer was the first postmaster. This post office was located on lot 6 in the first concession, which was owned by Besserer [Émery 1985]. It served residents of both Gloucester and Cumberland townships [Deveney 1988].
Although little can be said with certainty about the situation prior to 1885, it would appear that a school was opened in 1860 in a two-story house. Its exact location is not known, but the misses Hotte, Choquette and David served as pioneer teachers. Separate school #1 was built in Orleans in 1890, west of the creek, and became known as the Académie Saint-Joseph (St. Joseph’s Academy). The Grey Nuns took charge of it. In 1895, an English separate school was built in Orleans near Green’s Creek, following a preparatory meeting held on 13 September 1894 at the home of Michael Kenny, and chaired by Patrick Brady [Émery 1985].
The first Catholic cemetery in the village of St. Joseph (Orleans) itself was located south of the Montreal road. The present cemetery in Orleans was established on ten acres of land which were bought by the parish on 23 January 1893. It is located on the north side of the Montreal road, west of the church [Beauregard 1983, Émery 1985].
In 1885, the Grey Nuns of the Cross, later known as the Sisters of Charity of Ottawa, arrived in the parish of Saint-Joseph d’Orléans [Nadon 1974]. They bought more than five hundred acres of land, on lots 6, 7 and 8 in the first concession of the Ottawa Front, “from M. Besserer, B. Cooker, Joe Prestley, Isaac Wilson and B. Fitzsimmons” [Émery 1985, Walker 1968]. On this property they established a magnificent farm, the Youville Farm. Their residence, a two-story stone building located on the north side of the Montreal road, about one mile west of the village church, was built in 1885-86. In 1890, the Grey Nuns took charge of separate school #1 in the village of Orleans [Legros 1949, Émery 1985].
On 15 August 1922, St. Joseph (Orleans) became a police village within Carleton County, and local residents were able to make decisions concerning streets and fire prevention. The police village was dissolved on 1 January 1974 by the Regional Municipality of Ottawa-Carleton. By then, predictions were being made that the village would fairly soon be transformed into a large suburb of Ottawa [Wackley 2000]. That is precisely what happened, and today’s subdivisions include Convent Glen, Orléans Wood, Château Neuf, Orléans Village and Chapel Hill.
First marketed by Iber Homes on April 21, 1979 [Ottawa Citizen, Apr. 21, 1979 p. 50], it was a townhouse rental development near the corner of Jeanne d’Arc and Grey Nuns [Ottawa Citizen, Oct. 18, 1979 p.61].
The subdivision of Orléans Village occupies the land that formed the nucleus of the pioneer village of St. Joseph (Orleans). An article published in the Ottawa Citizen dated 9 April 1986 mentioned Superior Builders as the firm contemplating a subdivision by this name south of Notre-Dame Street and west of Orléans Boulevard.
Development of Orléans Wood began in 1977 [GOP-18]. This subdivision is located between the Ottawa River and the Queensway, and is bounded by the subdivision of Convent Glen to the west and by Champlain Street to the east. Champlain Street marks the boundary between the former townships of Gloucester and Cumberland [Anon. 1992].
See MACDONALD-CARTIER INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT.
OTTAWA INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT
See MACDONALD-CARTIER INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT.
The community of Overbrook is located north of the Queensway, south of Vanier, east of the Rideau River and west of St. Laurent Blvd. [Legendre 2009]. It was incorporated as a police village in 1922, and after World War II it entered a new phase of development [Séguin 1991].
The subdivision plan 321 registered on October 18, 1911 and was located south of Walkley Road and east of Albion Road. In consisted of one street, Paardeburgh Avenue extending from Albion Road to west of Hampstead Place. Much of the subdivision was expropriated by the Federal District Commission for a Parkway that was never built. One block of Paardeburgh Avenue was eventually built in the post war years west of Jasper Avenue. The name commemorates the Battle of Paardeberg from the Boer War. Today, this area is referred to as Ellwood.
A location immediately north of the Hunt Club Golf Course [Ottawa Citizen, Apr. 20, 1955 p.1].
The community of Pine View (also written Pineview) lies west of Blair Road, and is bounded by the Queensway to the north and Innes Road to the south [White 2003].
Piperville is a community situated southwest of Carlsbad Springs and southeast of Ramsayville [White 2003]. It was settled by people from Ulster, Ireland, who were later joined by people from southern Ireland. In 1875, a public school was built on the southwest corner of lot 10 in the eighth concession of the Ottawa Front. This log school house was located on land donated by the Piper family. It came under Gloucester public school section #20. In May of 1899, work started on the construction of a new school measuring 24 by 30 feet. It was a frame building, and was completed in 1900 [TB-PCR]. St. Cécile separate school was built in the late 1890s on the ninth line just west of the public school. It was identified as Roman Catholic separate school #20. The public school and the separate school looked exactly alike [Johnston 1991 p. 55].
A post office named Piperville opened in 1891, and the first postmaster was James Preston [Carter 1984]. The community had a flag station on the New York and Ottawa Railway, which was part of the New York Central Railway system linking New York State to Ottawa via Cornwall Junction on the St. Lawrence river. This flag station was built where the eighth line crossed the railroad; there was a larger station at Edwards in Osgoode Township [TB-PCR, Brown 1994].
A development by Campeau situated in the eastern part of Alta Vista between Kilborn Avenue and Pleasant Park Road, it is centred by Playfair Drive. It was first marketed by September 25, 1964 [Ottawa Citizen, Sept. 25, 1964 p.64]. Originally, the streets were uniquely lined with Mountain Ash trees but soon most of the trees succumbed to fire blight and few now remain.
POINT BON HOMME
See NORDIC CIRCLE
Other name for Gateville; see BILLINGS BRIDGE.
Quail Ridge, a subdivision within Blossom Park, is located on part of the 37 acres of land which Hiram Wood sold to John Goth in 1926 [Scott 2004]. This is a condominium garden home development by Mastercraft on the west side of Bank Street between Rosebella Avenue and St. Bernard Street. It was first marketed on April 29, 1977 [Ottawa Citizen, Apr. 29, 1977 p.14].
See GLOUCESTER QUARRIES.
QUEENSWAY INDUSTRIAL CAMPUS
The Queensway Industrial Campus is bounded on the west by Beacon Heights, on the south by the Queensway and on the east by the Green’s Creek Conservation Area [White 2003]. According to an article published in The Citizen on 3 November 1987, most of the residents of the Queensway Industrial Campus were francophone at the time.
Ramsayville was located in the Ottawa Front, about halfway between Hurdman’s Bridge and Carlsbad Springs along the Russell road. It was known by several names over the years. Early on, it was called East Gloucester. On 1 June 1868, a post office opened under the name Taylorholme, and the first postmaster was Charles Taylor. In 1873, the post office was renamed Ramsay’s Corners, and Robert Ramsay was the postmaster. On 1 July 1903, the name of the community became Taylorville, and two years later the community and the post office were renamed Ramsayville [Carter 1984, ArchiviaNet].
Ramsayville was situated only one mile southeast of Hawthorne, and both places were settled in the early 1830s. Also, both developed along the Russell road. Many of the early pioneers of Ramsayville arrived from the North of Ireland and from Scotland. One exception was Charles Taylor, an Englishman. He served as postmaster, and ran a stopping place or inn, but he soon left the settlement and moved up to Janeville. In 1847, Alexander Ramsay bought a rough farm lot in the still densely forested settlement. He was a widower when he arrived, and raised three young children [Walker 1968, Turcotte 1985].
In 1845, several pioneers in the settlement were members of Bytown’s Knox Presbyterian Church, founded at the time of the disruption of the Church of Scotland begun in 1843. By December of 1845, services were being conducted in a new frame church in Bytown, and Rev. Thomas Wardrope was the first minister. Eventually, the settlers who travelled to Knox Church for worship requested an East Gloucester mission station, and their request was received favourably. People began gathering for worship in the community’s school house. In 1868, land for a church and manse was purchased from Robert Ramsay, and in the same year representatives of East Gloucester applied to Presbytery to become a congregation. The first minister of the East Gloucester Presbyterian Church was Rev. H.J. McDiarmid, who served the congregation from 1870 to 1883 [Lillico 2001].
In the 1840s, the community had its own school, identified as Gloucester public school section #13. In 1893, it was decided to build a new school on lot 20 in the fifth concession of the Ottawa Front. The school house measured about 30 by 42 feet, and was erected on a solid stone foundation, with a brick veneer. The contractor was John Alexander, and the building was completed in 1894 [TB-PCR].
Ramsayville was destroyed when the new version of Highway 417 was constructed [Ashley 1979].
See BILLINGS BRIDGE.
The community of Rideau View (also written Rideauview [Wackley 2000]) was described in 1899 as a rural post office, with Hugh Blair as postmaster [Anon. 1899]. The farms of its pioneer families, several of them of Scottish origin, fronted on the Rideau river, a mile or so northeast of Long Island Village [TB-GG]. The school at Rideau View came under Gloucester public school section #11 [Kemp 1991].
Two acre garden lots were offered for sale by C.W. Ross Realtor in Lot 14 Junction Gore. A subdivision map was dated June 14, 1923 and well known 1923 photograph of the south end of Billings Bridge shows a building sized advertisement for this community which can be seen at http://www.gloucesterhistory.com/Billings%20Bridge%20two%20views.JPG. It appears that the subdivision was never built.
See BORTHWICK RIDGE and DOLMAN RIDGE.
This name was used for two subdivisions. The first south of Heron Road and east of Bank Street and the second south of Walkley Road and east of Bank Street. The latter was immediately west of the Paardeburgh Park subdivision. They were named because of their location on high land. The former subdivision is still known by that name while the latter is now known as Ellwood as it is quite close to the original village of Ellwood. Both subdivisions date from the pre World War I real estate boom and at least a few houses were built in both subdivisions during the early days. Ridgemont High School, opened in 1957 is named after this community. St. Thomas the Apostle Anglican Church was built on Bank Street at Portland Avenue between 1927 and 1930. Eventhough this was in the more northerly subdivision, the church was still referred to have been in Ellwood. This church relocated to Alta Vista Drive in 1956 and the original church was demolished the following year. Ridgemont did have a Women’s Institute for a period of time.
The community of Riverside Park is located east of Mooney’s Bay and Riverside Drivealong the Rideau River. It lies between Brookfield Road to the north and the hydro corridor beyond Walkley Road to the south, with the Airport Parkway to the east [White 2003]. Homes were first offered for sale in 1962 by Campeau Construction Company [Ottawa Citizen, January 5, 1962 p.40].
See RIVERVIEW PARK.
The community of Riverview Park, also known as Riverview, was developed primarily in the 1950s. It is roughly bounded by the Rideau River on the west, Industrial Avenue on the north, St. Laurent Boulevard on the east and Smyth Road on the south. The first meeting of the Riverview Park Property Owners Association was held on 17 November 1952, and the Riverview Park Public School was built in 1955 [Clayton 2008].
See GLOUCESTER QUARRIES.
See ROCKCLIFFE PARK.
ROCKCLIFFE AIR BASE
See ROCKCLIFFE AIR STATION.
See ROCKCLIFFE AIR STATION.
ROCKCLIFFE AIR STATION
In 1898, the Department of Militia and Defence expropriated 160 hectares (395 acres) of land in Gloucester Township, and established the Rockcliffe rifle range [Kom 2005], built by the John Lyons Construction Company [Voller 1981]. A military camp was set up in the area for the twelve-day spring training of militia units. There were 15-metre-tall limestone cliffs in the area, and they acted as target backstops [Payne 1999].
In 1921, the Dominion Rifle Association moved its targets to the Connaught ranges in South March [Walker 1968]. During the previous year, the Ottawa Air Station, Ottawa’s first airfield, had been opened. The government removed the firing range and erected a few hangars for bi-planes. In 1922, the base was turned over to the military, and in 1924 the Royal Canadian Air Force (RCAF) was established [Haig 1975]. By 1935, the size of the base had reached 376 hectares (930 acres). There was an upper level, separated from a lower level by a 15-metre cliff. Housing, recreational and other facilities occupied the upper level. On the lower level were some hangars at the foot of the cliff, then the airfield, followed by two former seaplane hangars near the river, and a slipway at the river’s edge. Between 1935 and 1964, the year in which the RCAF ceased flying operations there, the site became one of the most important bases in the history of Canadian aviation [Payne 1999].
After the Second World War, a larger community flourished under various names: Rockcliffe Air Base, Rockcliffe Air Station, Rockcliffe Airport [NCC 1969], CFB Rockcliffe (Canadian Forces Base Rockcliffe). It was then that the first family homes began to appear. About 450 of the single and semi-detached houses were built in the initial postwar years, with another 150 eventually added [Kom 2005]. A post office named Finter was established at the Rockcliffe air base on 5 September 1947. The first postmaster was Richard E. MacDonald. On 1 September 1951, this post office was changed to a sub-post office of Ottawa, and on 1 November 1952 it was closed [Carter 1984].
The community survived into the 21st century, with the Aviation Parkway to the west and Blair Road to the east, but the population gradually decreased, some houses were removed, and some buildings were destroyed. During the winter of 2008-09 the utilities were disconnected, hydro and water services were cut, doors and ground-floor windows were boarded up, and the site was closed to the public at midnight on 31 July 2009 [Manor Park Chronicle, May/June 2009]. By the end of the same year, there was no more though traffic on what had become private property, pending negotiations concerning future developments [Serré 2010].
Nowadays, the former Rockcliffe airfield is operated by the Rockcliffe Flying Club, and is restricted to club use [McGrath 1992]. Incorporated in 1961, and opened to civilians, the Rockcliffe Flying Club was organized by servicemen returning after the Second World War [Csoka 1981].
See MANOR PARK.
The Rockcliffe Mews Residents’ Association was established in 2003 to serve an area situated between La Cité Collégiale and the Aviation Parkway near Carson Grove.[Rockcliffe Mews Residents’ Association] The area was previously CMHC land rezoned for infill housing. [Belovic]
The community of Rockcliffe Park, located west of Manor Park and north of Lindenlea, was originally planned by T.C. Keefer, son-in-law of Thomas McKay, founder of the community of New Edinburgh. Rockcliffe Park was incorporated as a police village in 1908, and in 1925 it was incorporated as Rockcliffe Park Village [Séguin 1991].
See GLOUCESTER QUARRIES.
See GLOUCESTER QUARRIES.
This subdivision is located east of Blair Road, and north of Montreal Road [White 2003]. It was developed after World War II [Séguin 1991].
A development by Campeau, it was first marketed on August 18, 1969 between Beacon Hill and Rothwell Heights [Ottawa Citizen, Aug. 18, 1969 p.36].
A Campeau single family home development between Russell Road and St. Laurent Boulevard that was first advertised on November 4, 1965 [Ottawa Citizen, Nov. 6, 1965 p.2]. This area is also known as Hawthorne Meadows. Another Russell Heights community on east side of Russell Road near Haig Drive. This is a public housing townhouse development that was built around 1968 [Ottawa Citizen, Sept, 18, 1968 p.3].
SAWMILL CREEK ESTATES
Sawmill Creek Estates, a subdivision in theof Blossom Park area, was developed inas of 1983 [Scott 2004]. Located east of Albion Road neighbouring Sawmill Creek, it was first advertised on March 3, 1984 [Ottawa Citizen, March 3, 1984 p.95]. It is a condominium townhouse development by Gloucester Sawmill Creek Estates Ltd. [Ottawa Citizen, April 17, 1984 p.94]. This is also the name of the creek the runs north from the wetlands near Lester Road to Billings Bridge crossing Bank Street a number of times. It is named after the Billings sawmill that was situated along the creek near the Transitway overpass.
The name of the hill travelling south along Bank Street from Billings Bridge Plaza towards Kilborn Avenue and the old village of Gateville. The name is derived from the Billings sawmill located along the creek below the hillOther name for Gateville; see BILLINGS BRIDGE.
Centred on Maxime Street north of Cyrville Road, the original development predated city services. In 1963, Gloucester Township council ordered a cleanup after complaints were filed from residents concerning septic tanks backing up into ditches [Ottawa Citizen June 21, 1963 p.2]. A new bus service was announced in 1972. It was described as route 27, and served both Pineview and Séguin Heights [The Ottawa-Gloucester Guardian 12 Dec. 1972 p. 1].
In the days of the pioneers, Shaw’s Corner was located at the junction of the Leitrim and Bowesville roads [Johnston 1988].
Located north of Walkley Road, this subdivision lies between Sheffield Road to the east and Russell Road to the west [White 2003]. A development by GNC Home, it was first advertised on June 24, 1972 [Ottawa Citizen, June 24, 1972 p.59].
Registered under subdivision plan 149 on August 29, 1894, it was surveyed by Henry Osborne Wood. It is immediately south of Gateville and is bounded by Bank Street, Belanger Avenue, Clementine Avenue and Rockingham Avenue. It is named after the owner, William Smith and the former Canadian Pacific Railway crossing at Randall Avenue.
Located in Greenboro, north of Hunt Club Road between Albion Road and Cahill Drive, this higher end development by Larco Homes features single family homes and semi-detached adult lifestyle homes. Occupancy was to begin in 2008 [Ottawa Citizen, July 21, 2007 p.I11].
The community of South Gloucester, known initially as Barton’s Corners, is located on the boundary between the former townships of Gloucester and Osgoode [White 2003]. A post office was established as Barton’s Corners on 6 July 1847, and the first postmaster was J. Monaghan. In 1852, the name was changed to South Gloucester [Carter 1984].
A Roman Catholic mission was established in this community in 1845. The first chapel was replaced by a stone structure, built on lot 28 in the fourth concession of the Rideau Front, and blessed in July of 1852 as the Church of Our Lady of the Visitation [Daley 1985].
The first school was built of logs on lot 29 in the fourth concession, and came under public school section #1. In 1866, there were 32 pupils in attendance, and Miss Cameron was the teacher. In September of 1889, the log school was replaced by a one-room frame building, erected on lot 30 in the fourth concession [Daley 1985].
Originally named South Keys Village, it is located between Bank Street and Albion Road and between Johnston Road and Hunt Club Road. A development by Campeau, it was first marketed on February 14, 1968 [Ottawa Citizen, Feb. 14, 1968 p.49]. To the west, a shopping centre by the same name opened in 1996.
A subdivision map numbered 59 is dated October 31, 1911 and is located in Lot 25 Concession 1, Ottawa Front on the east side of Redpath Street (now Cummings Avenue) between Forbes and Cyrville. It lay just outside of the 1950 to 2000 Ottawa boundary. This general area is more recently known as Cummings. This was originally on the farm of David and Peter Thompson and father David had been married to Helen Redpath, neice of John Redpath who had contracted with Thomas McKay to build the Ottawa locks [Ottawa Citizen Aug. 16, 1930]. The subdivision consisted of three dead end streets named Violet, Alexander and Snow. Most of the original housing built in the post World War II years has been replaced.
The urban community of Thorncliffe Village is located north of Montreal Road and south of the Rockcliffe Air Station, with Carson Grove to the southwest [Legendre 2009].
See MACDONALD-CARTIER INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT.
See MACDONALD-CARTIER INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT.
Located north of Walkley Road and south of Elmvale Acres, this development was first marketed on November 21, 1958. The builder was Economy Home Builders Ltd. [Ottawa Citizen, Nov. 21, 1958 p.47].
UPPER HUNT CLUB
Located south of Hunt Club Road and east of Bank Street in the former Spratt Sand Pit, this Minto development opened in the early 1990s.
In 1969, the city of Eastview was renamed Vanier in honour of former Governor General Georges Vanier [Ottawa Citizen 10 Nov. 2005]. The urban community of Vanier was bounded by the Rideau River to the west, by Beechwood Avenue and Beechwood Cemetery to the north, and by Stevens Avenue to the south, with Cardinal Glen, Notre Dame Cemetery and Forbes to the east [Legendre 2009]. Measuring roughly one square mile, it was totally enclosed by the city of Ottawa [Mayo 1975]. Since amalgamation in 2001, the City of Vanier signs have been replaced with “Quartier Vanier” signs and occasional references are now made to Vanier as the “French Quarter”.
Victoria Heights, a subdivision of Blossom Park, was established in 1988 [Scott 2004]. It is situated east of Bank Street and north of Rosebella Avenue on the former Sutherland Greenhouse property.
In the vicinity of the current intersection of Heron Road and Riverside Drive, part of village was laid out by George F. Austin, Surveyor, on the south half of the front part of Lot 20 Junction Gore and registered on July 2, 1859 as Gloucester subdivision Plan 11. All vestiges of this village were eliminated with the development of Confederation Heights, Vincent Massey Park and Hog’s Back Park in the 1950s.
A pre-1900 subdivision at or near today’s intersection of Russell Road and Industrial Avenue [Clark 2009]. It appears that the subdivision was never built although the name appeared on a 1906 topographical map.
Located in the Alta Vista area, this subdivision was bound by Bank Street, Randall Avenue, Alta Vista Drive and Heron Road. It was first advertised on June 19, 1956 with the sales agent being Jack Aaron & Co. Limited [Ottawa Citizen, June 19, 1956 p.34].
WINDSOR PARK VILLAGE
Located south of Hunt Club Road, this subdivision lies between Uplands Drive to the west and the Airport Parkway to the east [White 2003]. It was first advertised on November 12, 1971 [Ottawa Citizen]
Aldred, Diane. The Aylmer Road, an illustrated history. Aylmer, Aylmer Heritage Association, 1994, 256 pages.
Anon. Business and professional directory of the Province of Ontario. Montreal, John Lovell & Son, 1882.
Anon. Counties of Carleton, Lanark, Prescott, Russell and Ottawa directory. Montreal, O.L. Fuller, 1884.
Anon. The Ottawa directory 1890-91. Ottawa, R.L. Polk & Co. and A.S. Woodburn, 1890.
Anon. The Union Publishing Co.’s farmers’ and business directory for the counties of Carleton, Dundas, Glengarry, Grenville, Lanark, Leeds, Prescott, Renfrew, Russell and Stormont, 1899.
Anon. The Ottawa city directory. Ottawa, Might Directories, Limited, 1904.
Anon. Walking in New Edinburgh, Ottawa. Ottawa, Heritage Ottawa, 1975.
Anon. Map of the national capital region. Ottawa, National Capital Commission, second edition, 1992.
Anon, “The geography of the Rockcliffe Annex: some welcome corrections,” Manor Park Chronicle, January 1999, pages 6-7.
ArchiviaNet. Post Offices and Postmasters database. Library and Archives Canada (LAC).
Armstrong, Mrs. Earl et al. [four-page document, undated, Limebank School file folder, History Room of the Gloucester Historical Society].
Ashley, Susan. Mer Bleue, the evolution of an urban bog. Ottawa, National Capital Commission, 1979, 60 pages.
Askwith, John E. Recollections of New Edinburgh [seven-page typescript reproduced from a short article written in 1925, with a preface signed by Claud E. Ralph in March 1944].
Baird, Rusty et al. St. George’s Anglican cemetery, Hawthorne, Ontario. Ottawa Branch, Ontario Genealogical Society, 1980.
Beauregard-Malak, Ève et al. Répertoire des sépultures de Notre-Dame-de-Lourdes de Vanier et de Saint-Joseph d’Orléans. Ottawa, Le Centre de généalogie, 1983, 426 pages.
Bell, Allan. A way to the west, a Canadian railway legend. Barrie, Ontario, L.A. Bell, 1991.
Belovic, Nancy http://www.nataliebelovic.com .
Bigsby, John J. The shoe and canoe. New York, Paladin Press, 1969 [two volumes, original edition published in London in 1850].
Billings, Bessie Bryson. History of the Billing(s) family, 137 pages [undated document held in the History Room of the Gloucester Historical Society].
Bond, Courtney C.J. “Tracks into Ottawa: the construction of railways into Canada’s capital,” Ontario History, volume 57, number 3, 1965, pages 122-134.
Bond, Courtney C.J. The Ottawa country, a historical guide to the National Capital Region. Ottawa, The Queen’s Printer, 1968, 198 pages.
Bourassa, Andrée et al. La petite histoire de Vanier. Vanier, O.V.U.L., 1975, 96 pages.
Boyd, Mary et al. Remembering Carlsbad Springs (Gloucester Township). Ottawa, Gloucester Historical Society, 2009, 32 pages.
Brault, Lucien. Histoire de la Pointe-Gatineau 1807-1947. Montréal, École industrielle des Sourds-Muets, 1948, 182 pages.
Brault, Lucien. The mile of history / Le mille historique. Ottawa, National Capital Commission, second edition, 1981, 83 pages.
Brown, Ron. The train doesn’t stop here any more, an illustrated history of railway stations in Canada. Peterborough, Broadview Press, 1991, 200 pages.
Brown, Ron. Ghost railways of Ontario. Peterborough, Broadview Press, 1994, 223 pages.
Brown, Ron. Ghost railways of Ontario, vol. 2. Toronto, Polar Bear Press, 2000, 224 pages.
Bush, E.F., “Thomas McKay,” Dictionary of Canadian Biography, volume VIII, 1985, pages 551-554.
Carroll, Catherine et al. A history of Long Island Manotick. North Gower, Rideau Township Historical Society, 1997, 56 pages.
Carter, Floreen Ellen. Place names of Ontario. London, Ont., Phelps Publishing Company, 1984, 2 volumes.
Chianello, Joanne, “Kempark, not much geography, but history worth a read,” The Ottawa Citizen, 19 Nov. 1996, page C6.
Churcher, Colin, Colin Churcher’s Railway Pages http://www.railways.incanada.net/ .
Clark, Glenn. St. James’ Leitrim, the story of the first English church of Gloucester Township. Ottawa, second edition, 2006, 366 pages.
Clark, Glenn [personal communication e-mailed in January and August 2009].
Clark, Glenn, “A Historical Timeline for the Township of Gloucester” on the Gloucester Historical Society Website at http://www.gloucesterhistory.com/history.html.
Clayton, Orrin. History of Riverview Park. Ottawa, Riverview Park Community Association, c. 2008, 156 pages.
Collins, Ken and Evalyn Collins. Bethany United Church cemetery, Ramsayville, Ontario. Ottawa Branch, Ontario Genealogical Society, 1995, 50 pages.
Collins, James. The chronicle of Carlsbad Springs. Ottawa, Kevin Collins, 2003, 196 pages.
Csoka, Otto P., “The Rockcliffe Flying Club,” Manor Park Newsletter, May 1981, page 9.
Daley, Michael. Our Lady of the Visitation parish 140th anniversary commemorative booklet, 1845-1985. Gloucester, 1985, 60 pages.
Deveney, Abby. “Orleans: the first 130 years, community first known as St. Joseph,” The Ottawa Citizen, 6 Nov. 1988, page G3.
Dowe, Francis S. An historical account of the mission at Gloucester and Saint James-Leitrim. Ottawa, 1973, 29 pages.
Edmond, Martha. Rockcliffe Park, a history of the village. Ottawa, The Friends of the Village of Rockclife Park Foundation, 2005, 279 pages.
Edwards, Margaret Bunel, ed. Highlights from MacKay’s history, MacKay United Church, 1875-1975. Ottawa, 1975, 145 pages.
Elliott, Anna. Blackburn-Glen Ogilvie, centennial history, 1867-1967, 44 pages.
Elliott, Anna, “Glen Ogilvie school,” Gloucester Roots, edited by Lois Kemp. Gloucester, Eloken Enterprises, 1991, page 46.
Elworthy, R.T. Mineral springs of Canada, part II: the chemical character of some Canadian mineral springs. Ottawa, Government Printing Bureau, 1918, 173 pages.
Émery, Robert et al. Paroisse St-Joseph d’Orléans (1860-1985), 125e anniversaire, 1985.
FHC (Family History Centre, Ottawa, Ontario). Russell County, Sainte-Félicité, 1855-1879: microfilms 473 and 474.
Friesen, Ronald J. The history of Hawthorne United Church, 1880 to 1975. Ottawa, 1975.
GOP-18. Gloucester, Official Plan, Amendment No. 18, Orleans, October 1977, 60 pages.
Gourlay, J.L. History of the Ottawa Valley, a collection of facts, events and reminiscences for over half a century, 1896, 240 pages.
Gover, Nancy et al. A brief history of the Billings family of Ottawa 1812-1975. Ottawa, Billings Estate Museum, 1986, 10 pages.
Graham, John, “Manor Park’s story: a chronicle rich in history,” Manor Park Chronicle, May 2005, pages 1 and 4.
Grindlay, T., Guichon & Haycock Consulting Engineers, “Map of Ottawa and Vicinity” 1913.
Haig, Robert. Ottawa, city of the big ears. Ottawa, Haig and Haig Publishing Company, 1975.
Hancocks, Elizabeth. County marriage registers of Ontario, Canada, 1858-1869, volume 31, Prescott & Russell County. Agincourt, Ont., Generation Press, 1979, 62 pages.
Hancocks, Elizabeth. County marriage registers of Ontario, Canada, 1858-1869, volume 37, Carleton County and City of Ottawa. Agincourt, Ont., Generation Press, 1999, 164 pages.
Hill, Hamnett P. History of Christ Church Cathedral, Ottawa, 1832-1932. Ottawa, Runge Press, 1932, 122 pages.
Hodgson, Carol. Billings Bridge: sketch of the village, 1830-1950. Ottawa, 1998, 47 pages.
Hurtubise, Pierre et al. Planted by flowing water, the diocese of Ottawa 1847-1997. Ottawa, Novalis, 1998, 232 pages.
IADC (Illustrated atlas of the Dominion of Canada). Appendix A, Prescott and Russell supplement. Toronto, H. Belden & Co., 1881.
IHACC (Illustrated historical atlas of the County of Carleton). Toronto, H. Belden & Co., 1879, 48 pages.
Irwin, W.H. Hunter, Rose & Co.’s city of Ottawa directory for 1870-71. Ottawa, 1870.
Jefferson, Robert et al. Faith of our fathers, the story of the diocese of Ottawa. Ottawa, The Anglican Book Society, 1957, 230 pages.
Jetté, René. Dictionnaire généalogique des familles du Québec. Montréal, Les Presses de l’Université de Montréal, 1983, 1177 pages.
Johnston, Grace. History of South Gloucester United Church at Johnston’s Corners 1834-1980. Gloucester, 1980, 51 pages.
Johnston, Grace. Rideauview and Gloucester Glen, December 1981 [three-page handwritten text held in a file folder in the History Room of the Gloucester Historical Society].
Johnston, Grace, ed. Memories of the lockstations at Long Island, Black Rapids, Hog’s Back and Hartwell’s. Gloucester Historical Society, 1982.
Johnston, Grace. Milk/cream producer-distributors in Gloucester 1892-1975. Gloucester Historical Society, 1986, 44 pages.
Johnston, Grace, “Gloucester roots,” The Leader, April 1986, page 6.
Johnston, Grace. The history of Public School Section #4 at Johnston’s Corners, 1987 [one-page typescript held in the History Room of the Gloucester Historical Society].
Johnston, Grace. Bowesville: a place to remember. Gloucester Historical Society, 1988.
Johnston, Grace, “Hawthorne Public School,” Gloucester Roots, edited by Lois Kemp. Gloucester, Eloken Entreprises, 1991, page 48.
Johnston, Grace, “St. Cécile school,” Gloucester Roots, edited by Lois Kemp. Gloucester, Eloken Enterprises, 1991, page 55.
Johnston, Grace, “Farmer’s Way,” Gloucester Roots, edited by Lois Kemp. Gloucester, Eloken Enterprises, 1991, page 67.
Johnston, Grace, “Hawthorne,” Gloucester Roots, edited by Lois Kemp. Gloucester, Eloken Entreprises, 1991, page 68.
Johnston, Grace, “Hawthorne Anglican Church,” Gloucester Roots, edited by Lois Kemp. Gloucester, Eloken Enterprises, 1991, page 86.
Johnston, Grace, “Hawthorne flag station,” Gloucester Roots, edited by Lois Kemp. Gloucester, Eloken Entreprises, 1991, page 95.
Kemp, Lois, ed. Gloucester roots. Gloucester, Eloken Enterprises, 1991, 126 pages.
Kimpton, Stefan [researcher, Vanier Museopark, personal communication, August 2008].
Kitchen, Kevin et al. Braddish Billings, Esquire, early Ottawa entrepreneur. Ottawa, The Historical Society of Ottawa, 1996, 23 pages.
Kom, Joel, “Days of glory gone by,” The Citizen’s Weekly, 27 Nov. 2005, pages B8 to B10.
LAC (Library and Archives Canada). Gloucester Township assessment roll microfilms M-7735 and M-7736, and Census microfilms C-11716 (1851), C-1012 (1861), C-10012 (1871), C-13229 (1881), T-6367 (1891), T-6495 (1901), T-20396 (1911). ArchiviaNet: Post Offices and Postmasters database.
Ladds, Florence (Bird). A bird’s eye view of the village of Hawthorne [undated three-page typescript held in the History Room of the Gloucester Historical Society].
Lapointe, Pierre Louis. Buckingham, in the heart of the Lower Lièvre District, the city of Buckingham from its earliest beginnings 1824-1990. Buckingham, Aupel Inc., 1990.
Laporte, Luc. Vanier. Ottawa, Centre franco-ontarien de ressources pédagogiques, 1983.
Lavergne, Hector et al. Mariages. Notre-Dame-de-Lourdes de Cyrville (Ottawa) 1873-1985. Ottawa, Société franco-ontarienne d’histoire et de généalogie, 1986, 130 pages.
Legendre, Jacques. Rideau-Rockcliffe 2009 annual report. Ottawa, City of Ottawa [ward 13].
Legget, Robert. Rideau waterway. Toronto, University of Toronto Press, rev. ed., 1972.
Legros, Hector et al. Le diocèse d’Ottawa, 1847-1948. Ottawa, Imprimerie Le Droit, 1949.
Leury, Jean. Historique de la paroisse Notre-Dame-de-Lourdes de Cyrville, Ontario. Cyrville, Paroisse Notre-Dame-de-Lourdes, 1948, 55 pages.
Lillico, Eleanor. Hawthorne. Ottawa, 1958 [17-page typescript held in the History Room of the Gloucester Historical Society].
Lillico, Eleanor et al. East Gloucester Presbyterian pastoral charge history 1860-1925 [unpaged brochure, dated June 2001, held in the History Room of the Gloucester Historical Society].
Lockwood, Glenn J. et al. Ottawa, a guide to heritage structures. Ottawa, Local Architectural Conservation Advisory Committee, 2000, 250 pages.
Macartney, Linton et al. 60th anniversary, Ridge public school, 1953 [School Section #27 file folder held in the History Room of the Gloucester Historical Society].
MacKenzie, George A., ed. From Aberdeen to Ottawa in 1845, the diary of Alexander Muir. Aberdeen University Press, 1990, 131 pages.
Manor Park Chronicle, a community association and community school council periodical, first issued in January 1949, continued in March 1950 as This Week, continued after six issues in June 1950 as Manor Park Chronicle, name changed to Manor Park Newsletter in 1972 and back to Manor Park Chronicle in April 1984.
May, Zita Barbara. St. Bart’s of the village, centennial of the parish of St. Bartholomew’s Anglican Church in the diocese of Ottawa, Ontario, 1867-1967. Ottawa, 1967, 63 pages.
Mayo, Henry B. et al. Ottawa-Carleton in review, a basic information booklet. Ottawa, Carleton University, 1975, 145 pages.
McCooeye, Shirley. Ficko Subdivision [10-page community file submitted to the Gloucester Historical Society in 2010].
McEvoy H., ed. Province of Ontario gazetteer and directory. Toronto, Robertson & Cook, Publishers, 1869.
McGrath, T.M. History of Canadian airports. Lugus Publications, 1992, 333 pages.
McNeill, Kendall, “St. Margaret’s church marking 70th year,” The Ottawa Journal, 15 February 1958, page 31.
Might Directories Limited. The Ottawa city directory. Ottawa 1915.
Mika, Nick and Helma. Places in Ontario, their name, origins and history. Belleville, Mika Publishing Company, 3 parts, 1983.
Miller, Ann Hill. Hawthorne Village [5-page typescript, circa 1955, held in the History Room of the Gloucester Historical Society].
Mitchell & Co’s County of Carleton & Ottawa city directory for 1864-5. Toronto, 1864.
Mutters, Ira. Farmer’s Corners Church [information obtained in 1975 and held in a file folder in the History Room of the Gloucester Historical Society].
Nadon, Léon-Aurèle. Répertoire des mariages de Notre-Dame-de-Lourdes, Vanier (1887-1971) et de St-Joseph d’Orléans (1860-1972). Société de généalogie de Québec, 1974, 237 pages.
NCC (National Capital Commission). NCCN-94-02-37-FS, 1994 [single-page printed document, copy held in the History Room of the Gloucester Historical Society].
NCC (National Capital Commission). Ottawa & Environs [map]. Ottawa, National Capital Commission, 1969.
Nelles, H.V., “Thomas Coltrin Keefer,” Dictionary of Canadian Biography, volume XIV, 1998, pages 552-555.
Newton, Michael. Lower Town Ottawa, volume 2, 1854-1900. Ottawa, National Capital Commission, 1981, 1013 pages.
OGBD (Ontario gazetteer and business directory). Toronto, R.L. Polk & Co., 1884 (4 volumes), 1886 (3 volumes).
Ormsby, William et al. St. James’ Church Leitrim, diocese of Ottawa, 1853-1953 [5 pages, copy held in the History Room of the Gloucester Historical Society].
OTTAWAliving.CA, Ottawa’s Real Estate Portal http://www.ottawaliving.ca
Paine, Cecelia R. The landscape of the Billings Estate: its settlement and evolution, 1980 [82-page typescript held in the History Room of the Gloucester Historical Society].
Paquette, Léo, “Why my street is called… Tudor Place,” Perspectives Vanier, March 2010, p. 6.
Payne, Stephen R. A history of the Rockcliffe Airport site [41 pages, electronic version only: http://dsp-psd.communication.gc.ca/Collection/NM97-12-2-5-1999E.pdf].
Pelletier, Jean Yves. Répertoire de mariages du Comté Ottawa-Carleton (14 paroisses). Ottawa, Le Centre de généalogie, 1986, 512 pages.
Proulx, Ethel Sivyer. Memories of the Burgh. Ottawa, 1991, 68 pages.
Rayburn, Alan. Place names of Ontario. Toronto, University of Toronto Press, 1997, 404 pages.
Rhodes, Ned, Sr., “I remember,” Manor Park Newsletter, November 1979, pages 8-9.
Rockcliffe Mews Community Association http://rockcliffemews.org/Default.aspx .
Rooney, Joan McEvoy. Historic homes and buildings of the Billings Bridge community, a self-guided tour. Ottawa, The Association of Friends of the Billings Estate Museum, 2004.
Ross, A.H.D. Ottawa past and present. Ottawa, Thorburn & Abbott, 1927, 224 pages.
Scott, Joan, “Blossom Park,” Historic Gloucester, volume 5, number 3, 2004, pages 3-5.
Séguin, Gilles. Gloucester, great dreams build great cities! Gloucester, 1991, 22 pages.
Serré, Robert. Pioneer families of the Gloucester Quarries in Eastern Ontario. Ottawa, Robert Serré, 2004, 64 pages.
Serré, Robert. Pioneer families of Glen Ogilvie (Gloucester Township). Ottawa, Gloucester Historical Society, 2005, 24 pages.
Serré, Robert. Pioneer families of Cyrville (Gloucester Township). Ottawa, Gloucester Historical Society, 2006, 44 pages.
Serré, Robert. Pioneer families of New Edinburgh (Gloucester Township), volume one: 1830-1870. Ottawa, Gloucester Historical Society, 2007, 55 pages.
Serré, Robert. Pioneer families of Hurdman’s Bridge (Gloucester Township). Ottawa, Gloucester Historical Society, 2007, 46 pages.
Serré, Robert. Pioneer families of Janeville (Gloucester Township). Ottawa, Gloucester Historical Society, 2008, 47 pages.
Serré, Robert, “Documentary evidence of a Catholic cemetery in Cumberland Village in the 1860s and 1870s,” Ottawa Branch News, volume 42, number 1, 2009, pages 20-22.
Serré Robert [personal communication, June 2010].
Sevigny, E. et al. St. Mary the Virgin Anglican Church cemetery, Blackburn, Ontario. Ottawa Branch, Ontario Genealogical Society, 1971, 3 pages.
Shea, Philip. History of Eastview. Ottawa, 1964, 22 pages.
Slater, J. et al. Ramsayville/Blossom Park/Metcalfe School Area Review Committee, proposal, approved November 10, 1981, 68 pages.
Small, Darell et al. Dale’s Cemetery, Russell County, Cumberland Township. Ottawa Branch, Ontario Genealogical Society, 1980.
Small, Darell, “Cemetery recording pays off!” Ottawa Branch News, November 1987, page 69.
Sproule, Gladys, “School of 1837 lives on as home,” The Ottawa Journal, 1 March 1958, p. 33.
Sutherland, James. Ottawa City and counties of Carleton and Russell directory 1866-7. Ottawa, Hunter, Rose and Company, 1866.
Sutherland, James. Sutherland’s City of Ottawa directory for 1868. Ottawa, Hunter, Rose and Company, 1868.
TB-GG (Tweedsmuir Book – Gloucester Glen Women’s Institute) [54 unbound sheets, undated, held in the History Room of the Gloucester Historical Society].
TB-L (Tweedsmuir Book – Leitrim Women’s Institute) [108 sheets, undated, held in the History Room of the Gloucester Historical Society].
TB-PCR (Tweedsmuir Book – Piperville, Carlsbad, Ramsayville Women’s Institute) [76 sheets, undated, held in the History Room of the Gloucester Historical Society].
The Leader. Gloucester News [published monthly in Gloucester by Elokem Enterprises Ltd. from Sept. 1981 to Apr. 1994].
The Ottawa-Gloucester Guardian. Covering South-East Ottawa [published weekly in Ottawa by Fenn-Graphic Ltd. from 1969 to 1975].
Turcotte, Bobbi, “What’s in a name, Ramsayville, name see-sawed for decades,” The Citizen, 1 May 1985, page B19.
Voller, Joan Amy (née Thompson), “Recollections of the thirties in Rockcliffe Annex,” Manor Park Newsletter, February 1981, pages 10-11.
Wackley, Tanya et al. Gloucester, the proud legacy of our communities. Gloucester, 2000.
Walker, Harry J.W. and Olive. Carleton saga. Ottawa, Runge Press, 1968, 571 pages.
White, Craig et al. Deluxe street atlas of Ottawa & environs. Oshawa, Peter Heiler Ltd., 2003.
Wilson, George H. “Old-Time Stuff,” The Saturday Evening Citizen, 8 Sept. 1928, page 2.
Wilson, Earl G. “Old Time Stuff,” The Ottawa Evening Citizen, 3 July 1937, page 2.
Woodburn’s City of Ottawa directory. Ottawa, A.S. Woodburn, 1879, 1880.
Woods, Shirley E., Jr. Ottawa. The capital of Canada. Toronto, Doubleday Canada, 1980.
The Gloucester Historical Society acknowledges the financial assistance of the City of Ottawa